7MGTE Rebuild

+ Reply to Thread

Thread: 7MGTE Rebuild

7MGTE Rebuild

Okay, it's time to rebuild. I've never done a 7mgte before, but here's the story:
    Bought the car, known BHG, possible rod bearing problem. I ran a compression test and got 122psi on all cyl's except 4 and 6; no.4 at 70psi, no.6 at 135psi. The intake mani was already torn apart, so I never heard it run, no idea what noises/etc.

I pulled and tore down the motor to discover a BHG (as expected), but it was all blown apart at cyl 1 and cyl 4. That confused me with those comp. numbers. Anyway, I pulled the pistons out and the #6 rod bearing was all scratched and scored, the rest looked worn (140k on motor) but in otherwise good shape. The crank at #6 was also all hacked up.

SO, I found a crank that should be in good shape that I am just going to replace mine with, as opposed to having mine machined. I will be installing new main and rod bearings. I am torn between ACL and Clevite, I've heard good and bad about both, so I don't know which way to go. I can get the ACL's for about $40 cheaper than the Clevites.

What I don't know is this: I've heard you have to measure the crank with a micrometer and buy accordingly over/under-sized bearings. I saw no option for this with the Clevites or ACL's. Is this only w/ a machined crank? Should I have the new one machined anyway, even if it looks good? About balance issues, should I use the pistons from my motor, or the ones from the motor the new crank is coming out of?

Anything else I should do/know? Thanks in advance.

PS- I plan for about 350-400whp when I am done, down the road, so I think stock bottom end and PROPERLY torqued stock HG should be fine for now. Good/bad?

2. Remove Advertisements
    SupraForums.com
    Advertisements

SupraForums Member ma71supraturbo's Avatar
    Finding a good machine shop to help you with the process should be priority number 1. My local machine shop was invaluable in helping me with my rebuild (2nd only to the TSRM)