is300 gte swap

+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: is300 gte swap

  1. #1
    Newbie
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Location
    Atlanta
    Posts
    2

    is300 gte swap

    hey guys, this is actually my first post on this site. my main reason for joining is because i am interested in swapping a 2jz gte into my is300, and sadly i have had trouble finding good advice on other forums (which shall remain nameless). so i know this is not a site for is300s but i was hoping that you guys would have some advice for me, not only about the swap but about what other equipment i should look at should look at getting, i.e. exhaust, intake, etc. im not sure if i want to go the tt route or the single turbo route yet but that gets into some of my questions. anyways glad to be on here and look forward to talking to u guys.

  2. Remove Advertisements
    SupraForums.com
    Advertisements
     

  3. #2
    SupraForums Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Location
    Frederick, MD
    Posts
    3,669


    doing a swap right now

    2jz vvti

    stock twins wont fit so you have to go single turbo!

    go with a full standalone ecu!
    14 Mustang
    96 RHD Supra hardtop 3.1 GTE

  4. #3
    SupraForums Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Maryland
    Age
    35
    Posts
    154
    Some people on IS forums will tell you that you can fit the stock twins but they also think that it is okay to jam your motor mounts into place and make the bolts on the bottom angle back in...yea real good!

    Owner has finally listened to Matt and is now going with a single turbo. He also has a AEM that he is using on it. Aside from the twins not fitting without cutting the crap out of your heater core outlets and trying to mess up your mounts...fairly easy to do...
    92 SC300, 1jz-gte, Buddy Club Race Spec Coilovers, etc...GONE

    04 Triple Black BMW M3 SMG Convertible

  5. #4
    SupraForums Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    TX
    Posts
    276
    i've also heard that you have to relocate the ABS block

  6. #5
    SupraForums Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Location
    Frederick, MD
    Posts
    3,669
    Quote Originally Posted by ihiryu View Post
    i've also heard that you have to relocate the ABS block
    you have to move it to the passenger side about 2 inch's its easy!

  7. #6
    Newbie
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Location
    Atlanta
    Posts
    2
    ok well in y'alls opinion would it be a better idea to try and create a tt setup or just go with a single. no i havent started yet im trying to track down a car with a blown engine so i can get it cheep and drop in the drive train i want, also whats going to be the best choice for a transmission thanks for the help so far guys

  8. #7
    SupraForums Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Location
    california
    Posts
    63
    2jz stock twins will fit, but it is a very tight fit. ABS dont really have to be moved.




    is300 forums has all the information you will be needing.

  9. #8
    SupraForums Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    Southflorida
    Posts
    389
    I recommend doing a single turbo kit and relocating the abs line to e battery tray and relocating the battery to the trunk

+ Reply to Thread

Quick Reply Quick Reply

  • Decrease Size
    Increase Size
  • Remove Text Formatting
  • Insert Link Insert Image Insert Video
  • Wrap [QUOTE] tags around selected text

Posting Permissions

  • You may post new threads
  • You may post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts