Compression Results / Head Torque Question

+ Reply to Thread

Thread: Compression Results / Head Torque Question

Compression Results / Head Torque Question

Compression results...what would you do?

7MGTE (cold...very cold engine that hasn't been started in months)

"Wet" measurement was using appx 1oz of Royal Purple oil in cylinder.

cyl1 - 150 dry / 185 wet

cyl2 - 120 dry / 145 wet

cyl3 - 35 dry / 60 wet

cyl4 - 130 dry / 150 wet

cyl5 - 120 dry / 150 wet

cyl6 - 150 drt / 180 wet

Cylinder 3 has an obvious issue. I'm new to this platform and have heard the 7mgte has under-rated torque specs for the head? So my idea is to re-toque the head bolt and measure again.

Am I missing anything here? Should the car be warmed up before re-torquing or would a cold engine be better for this?

2. Remove Advertisements
    SupraForums.com
    Advertisements

Unlimited Time Attack A70 Twin2Turbo's Avatar
    You're not gonna get 120psi increase from torquing the headbolts.

Time to tear it down and see whats going on.
    -Nick

1JZ|Link|Precision|Brembo|DBA|Tilton|Carrillo|Diamond|InjectorDynamic|TurboSmart|Technico|ATI|BC|HKS|And Everything Else|
    My Build Thread <-> Www.projecthighrpm.com

Doubtful that a retorque would help your low compression numbers, it wouldn't hurt to try. Depends on when the issue arose, milky colored oil, etc etc.

Could be a bad headgasket, might be the rings in cylinder 3. Either way you'll need to do a teardown.

7MGTE head bolt torque specs is something like 58 ft-lbs, aftermarket ARP studs (better option) are around 80 or 90.

You can retorque cold, do one at a time. Crack one loose, then tighten down, go to the next one. Pattern is here: http://www.cygnusx1.net/Supra/Librar...aspx?S=EM&P=55

5. Remove Advertisements
    SupraForums.com
    Advertisements

Quote Originally Posted by Twin2Turbo View Post
    You're not gonna get 120psi increase from torquing the headbolts.

Time to tear it down and see whats going on.