AEM or ProEFI

+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 18 of 18

Thread: AEM or ProEFI

  1. #1
    SupraForums Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Location
    NJ
    Posts
    469

    AEM or ProEFI

    Currently on AEM V2 and no real complaints but have been thinking about switching to ProEFI. Any thoughts/feedback? Having the can display would be great.

    Would consider the infinity, but the reports of an rpm stumble while cruising and no word on whether this was fixed or not takes that off the table for now.

  2. Remove Advertisements
    SupraForums.com
    Advertisements
     

  3. #2
    Kinda Broken Supra Biologist's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    Chicago, IL
    Age
    26
    Posts
    3,761
    Why switch when it’s not broken?
    1994 Toyota Supra Renaissance Red Built 3.0
    2008 Lexus IS-F Ultra Sonic Blue Full Bolt On
    fullsizeoutput_f09 by Tuan Nguyen, on Flickr
    fullsizeoutput_f07 by Tuan Nguyen, on Flickr

  4. #3
    SupraForums Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    Milton, VT
    Posts
    62
    What don't you like about aem? Just curious because that is what I plan on buying.

  5. Remove Advertisements
    SupraForums.com
    Advertisements
     

  6. #4
    SupraForums Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Location
    CT
    Posts
    565
    How about Haltech Elite 2500 ? If not, why not ?

  7. #5
    SupraForums Member HotSoup's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2002
    Location
    North Carolina
    Age
    40
    Posts
    9,490
    If it aint broke why fix it?
    1994 Red/Black TT
    86K miles
    Roller...6 speed swap coming soon

  8. #6
    SupraForums Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2015
    Location
    Boston, MA
    Posts
    682
    x3 If it aint broke why fix it?

    Take that money and put it towards something else your car may need....or better yet book a vacation life is short!
    1994 6spd Targa
    Big Twins / Twin QSVs / 3.4L / VVTi / 10:1
    SRT8 Brembo 6pot front / 4pot rear with ISF 14" rotors Big Brake Kit Creator
    Instagram: @pkop2jz

  9. #7
    Kappa Check 1 2 Kidney's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    Albuquerque, NM
    Posts
    604
    The BTI gauge works with AEM if that's your only concern other than the stumble issue.

    -Rich

    Originally 94 TT Auto Targa, 72k miles. Undergoing surgery...V160/PTE gen 2 7675/GSC S2/Manley 10:1 built 3.0/Manley Turbo Tuff I-Beam/ProEfi/E85


  10. #8
    SupraForums Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Location
    NJ
    Posts
    469
    All point well taken...people raved about the ProEFI so much just wondered if it was truly that much of an improvement over the v2?

  11. #9
    Infinity here with the BTI TFT display, no complaints.
    I like AEM's logging/tuning software too, more versatility than I need.
    94 RR TT 6spd
    PTE 6870

  12. #10
    Mind if I do a J? Patrick94TT's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    Palm Springs, California
    Posts
    3,111
    I work with all types of engine managements systems. Personally I prefer ProEFI over the V2 and Infinity platforms strictly because I have had ZERO hardware issues with them. I'm constantly having issues with Infinity. They are super susceptible to voltage issues and the "stumble" as already mentioned in this thread is something that has plagued a couple cars I've built and it just sucks because I haven't found a fix to it. I've had issues with stepper motor parking (sometimes just gets "lost") with Infinity too. ProEFI I have never had an issue with anything. Honestly I haven't really had an issue with V2 either. I run ProEFI in my personal car and recommend it to anyone with an MKIV. There's no reason to ever consider anything else once it's in and running.
    1994 Toyota Supra 6MT - Renaissance Red/Black leather - 76k miles
    10:1 / Precision Gen 2 8685 / ProEFI / Sleeper Designs RMR / IGN-1A / Ignite Red / V160
    1438whp / 1159tq

  13. #11

    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Location
    Boonieville Ontario
    Posts
    13
    I have a brand new v2 (open box) and a vvti patch harness for trade or sale! I’m after the proefi. Only because I want to keep dbw and vvti. But she’s a plug and play for all you non vvti guys. Lmk!!

  14. #12
    Hardtopper HellBringer's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    Charlotte, NC
    Posts
    2,437
    I have ProEFI and am generally happy with it. It can be a bit of a process to get it set up and dialed in, but after it's rock solid. I've driven my buddy's Infinity-equipped Supra at length on a few occasions and have experienced the 'stumble'. Honestly, it's not that bad, IMO; a mild compromise all things considered. I can see how it would be an annoying thorn in the side, though. Seemed to exhibit once very 35-45min of sustained driving and literally feels like a single momentary misfire/blip while cruising or very light accel. Aside from that it does have it's other little quirks --- issues with connecting to the laptop for logging/tuning which is usually resolved by disconnecting and reconnecting the battery a few times (aka the Infinity hokey pokey), logging to USB seems hit or miss, occasional odd behavior from the BTI CAN gauge, IAC control seems funky resulting in the occasional stall with clutching-in to come to a stop (regardless of "tune"), etc.. Overall I think the Infinity is a good option but you'll have to get over it's various bugs.

    1993 Supra TT 6sp Hardtop -- 1115WHP -- 190MPH 1/2 mile
    2009 Corvette ZR1 -- 640WHP -- 10.12 @ 138.3MPH
    2007 Corvette coupe -- 500WHP -- Procharger P1SC
    2013 Infiniti G37x
    2010 Escalade ESV

    Formerly:
    1994 Supra TT 6sp BPU -- 11.8 @ 118MPH
    1997 Supra TT Auto BPU -- 12.0 @ 122MPH
    1994 Supra 6sp -- 72mm, VPC/AFC, stock longblock -- 722WHP & 10.36 @ 139.5MPH
    1993.5 Supra TT Auto BPU

  15. #13
    2JZA70 SDstreetracer's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2001
    Location
    San Marcos, CA
    Age
    37
    Posts
    2,528
    Quote Originally Posted by HellBringer View Post
    I have ProEFI and am generally happy with it. It can be a bit of a process to get it set up and dialed in, but after it's rock solid. I've driven my buddy's Infinity-equipped Supra at length on a few occasions and have experienced the 'stumble'. Honestly, it's not that bad, IMO; a mild compromise all things considered. I can see how it would be an annoying thorn in the side, though. Seemed to exhibit once very 35-45min of sustained driving and literally feels like a single momentary misfire/blip while cruising or very light accel. Aside from that it does have it's other little quirks --- issues with connecting to the laptop for logging/tuning which is usually resolved by disconnecting and reconnecting the battery a few times (aka the Infinity hokey pokey), logging to USB seems hit or miss, occasional odd behavior from the BTI CAN gauge, IAC control seems funky resulting in the occasional stall with clutching-in to come to a stop (regardless of "tune"), etc.. Overall I think the Infinity is a good option but you'll have to get over it's various bugs.
    All those bugs you mentioned are unacceptable in a modern engine management system. Why anyone would try to justify them as something to get over is beyond me.
    91 Black 7mge auto

  16. #14
    Mamba Still On Top MDSUPERSTAR's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Location
    Staples Center
    Posts
    3,422
    Quote Originally Posted by Patrick94TT View Post
    I work with all types of engine managements systems. Personally I prefer ProEFI over the V2 and Infinity platforms strictly because I have had ZERO hardware issues with them. I'm constantly having issues with Infinity. They are super susceptible to voltage issues and the "stumble" as already mentioned in this thread is something that has plagued a couple cars I've built and it just sucks because I haven't found a fix to it. I've had issues with stepper motor parking (sometimes just gets "lost") with Infinity too. ProEFI I have never had an issue with anything. Honestly I haven't really had an issue with V2 either. I run ProEFI in my personal car and recommend it to anyone with an MKIV. There's no reason to ever consider anything else once it's in and running.
    Quote Originally Posted by HellBringer View Post
    I have ProEFI and am generally happy with it. It can be a bit of a process to get it set up and dialed in, but after it's rock solid. I've driven my buddy's Infinity-equipped Supra at length on a few occasions and have experienced the 'stumble'. Honestly, it's not that bad, IMO; a mild compromise all things considered. I can see how it would be an annoying thorn in the side, though. Seemed to exhibit once very 35-45min of sustained driving and literally feels like a single momentary misfire/blip while cruising or very light accel. Aside from that it does have it's other little quirks --- issues with connecting to the laptop for logging/tuning which is usually resolved by disconnecting and reconnecting the battery a few times (aka the Infinity hokey pokey), logging to USB seems hit or miss, occasional odd behavior from the BTI CAN gauge, IAC control seems funky resulting in the occasional stall with clutching-in to come to a stop (regardless of "tune"), etc.. Overall I think the Infinity is a good option but you'll have to get over it's various bugs.
    Infinity 6 here. My experience versus quoted feedback:

    1. Yes- I have the stumble. I've had it with 2 separate Infinity 506 boxes. The dedicated thread here on SF in the dyno/tuning section shows this problem is systemic.
    2. IAC getting lost- I do not seem to have this issue with the PHR Ford IAC kit
    3. No- No issues with the BTI guages (2) I have installed in parallel (52+60mm)
    4. Yes- I have had the car stall when "clutching in" coming to a stop twice. I'm not sure if this is Infinity related or potentially a bug that can be tuned out.
    5. No feedback on logging issues - don't log frequently. Had to learn about running the application in "Windows Admin Mode."


    Other feedback:
    1. Car starts quickly even when cold and on E85.
    2. AEM handles multiple trim pot switches well (have one for boost, one for TC)
    3. It actually fits in the floor well and allows a stock like install if the work is good. The ProEFI is a monster, size wise.
    4. A lot more tuners with the Infinity, however, once your setup is dialed in well this benefit is moot unless you are the constant change type. Remote tunes are becoming common and overcome the distance trap.
    5. I've had an Infinity brick itself on a firmware upgrade being performed by an AEM dealer. AEM eventually waived the repair fee of $115 after enough of my complaints.
    6. I've had an AEM (one of the first 100, per the SN) develop an issue where the car wasn't allowed to rev past 4K RPMs. Hot swapping another box and using the same map = problem resolved. AEM "fixed" the box for $120 but would not share what was done.


    If your AEM V2 runs like a top, leave it alone. If you need a tune touchup, I'd recommend Lawrence Shipman who can help you remote. He's a respected member here and he shared with me, while tuning my car, that he preferred the V2 vice the Infinity. He can also help you with the BTI gauge install if you'd like a real time display, including integrating it into your V2 to use as a trim pot switch. There are also many other respected tuners who can help you.
    Last edited by MDSUPERSTAR; 05-19-2019 at 01:40 PM.

    94 6sp "Casino Royale" Single Turbo - Build Thread: https://www.supraforums.com/forum/sh...ale-6sp/page14

    3.2L 10:1 VVTi, Plazmaman Intake, PTE6870, AEM Infinity 6, V160 w/ RPS CC, Recaro Cross Sportster CS seats, iForged wheels, BBKs, mint air freshener.

  17. #15
    SupraForums Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Location
    Toronto
    Posts
    120
    "I'd recommend Lawrence Shipman who can help you remote. "

    Contact number / website?

  18. #16
    Mamba Still On Top MDSUPERSTAR's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Location
    Staples Center
    Posts
    3,422
    Quote Originally Posted by CzA View Post
    "I'd recommend Lawrence Shipman who can help you remote. "

    Contact number / website?
    Lawrence's info: https://www.instagram.com/lsfabrication/ [email protected] / 707-888-6856

  19. #17
    Quote Originally Posted by Patrick94TT View Post
    I work with all types of engine managements systems. Personally I prefer ProEFI over the V2 and Infinity platforms strictly because I have had ZERO hardware issues with them. I'm constantly having issues with Infinity. They are super susceptible to voltage issues and the "stumble" as already mentioned in this thread is something that has plagued a couple cars I've built and it just sucks because I haven't found a fix to it. I've had issues with stepper motor parking (sometimes just gets "lost") with Infinity too. ProEFI I have never had an issue with anything. Honestly I haven't really had an issue with V2 either. I run ProEFI in my personal car and recommend it to anyone with an MKIV. There's no reason to ever consider anything else once it's in and running.
    Quote Originally Posted by HellBringer View Post
    I have ProEFI and am generally happy with it. It can be a bit of a process to get it set up and dialed in, but after it's rock solid. I've driven my buddy's Infinity-equipped Supra at length on a few occasions and have experienced the 'stumble'. Honestly, it's not that bad, IMO; a mild compromise all things considered. I can see how it would be an annoying thorn in the side, though. Seemed to exhibit once very 35-45min of sustained driving and literally feels like a single momentary misfire/blip while cruising or very light accel. Aside from that it does have it's other little quirks --- issues with connecting to the laptop for logging/tuning which is usually resolved by disconnecting and reconnecting the battery a few times (aka the Infinity hokey pokey), logging to USB seems hit or miss, occasional odd behavior from the BTI CAN gauge, IAC control seems funky resulting in the occasional stall with clutching-in to come to a stop (regardless of "tune"), etc.. Overall I think the Infinity is a good option but you'll have to get over it's various bugs.
    Now that ya'll mention a "light accel blip" I too consistently experience this. Although I had it marked up to a "tuning issue".
    Seems to only happen in 1st gear under light acceleration.
    Last edited by Brotato; 05-20-2019 at 09:36 PM.

  20. #18
    SupraForums Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2014
    Location
    Boston
    Posts
    203
    run the infinity as well. the blip or millisecond cut off is hit or miss. i could drive the car for 30mins or a hour might not happen. i could drive it the next day it might happen twice in one hour. doesn't bother me much. i havent had any issues with my bti gauge setup, nor running the software or logging. my tuner had no issues at all setting it up.

+ Reply to Thread

Quick Reply Quick Reply

Register Now

Please enter the name by which you would like to log-in and be known on this site.

Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

List your Car(s)

Where you live

Please select your insurance company (Optional)

Your Supra's Vehichle Identification Number (Not visible to the public)

Log-in

Similar Threads

  1. FS: AEM V2 EMS, AEM fuel pump, AEM water meth, AEM gauges
    By silviadrftr in forum Canadian For Sale/Wanted - Parts, etc.
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 07-10-2016, 10:41 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •