Your 1JZ-GTE And 2JZ-GTE Swap Guide For Dummies - Page 2

+ Reply to Thread
Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 1 2
Results 26 to 41 of 41

Thread: Your 1JZ-GTE And 2JZ-GTE Swap Guide For Dummies

  1. #26
    SupraForums Member southeastsupra's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    Houston, Texas
    Age
    32
    Posts
    825
    Question fellas, ive searched and havent found a exact answer and maybe you guys can shine some light. I have a mk4 getting built with hks 272 cams, i am going with gsc s3 cams and wanted to use the same hks cams on my mk3 1jz build. Ive read "some machining" is required just dont know exactly what kind of "machining" they mean. Anyone care so share? Or has anyone done this? Not going for a record breaking build on the mk3, wanting to daily drive it at 550-600whp, enough to play with some newer cars, the mk4 im pushing it to the next level. 1400whp is the magic number on all boost plus spray. Hopefully i can have pics of project starting here soon.

  2. Remove Advertisements
    SupraForums.com
    Advertisements
     

  3. #27
    SupraForums Member Jostar's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    Chicago IL
    Age
    38
    Posts
    3,318
    Quote Originally Posted by southeastsupra View Post
    Question fellas, ive searched and havent found a exact answer and maybe you guys can shine some light. I have a mk4 getting built with hks 272 cams, i am going with gsc s3 cams and wanted to use the same hks cams on my mk3 1jz build. Ive read "some machining" is required just dont know exactly what kind of "machining" they mean. Anyone care so share? Or has anyone done this? Not going for a record breaking build on the mk3, wanting to daily drive it at 550-600whp, enough to play with some newer cars, the mk4 im pushing it to the next level. 1400whp is the magic number on all boost plus spray. Hopefully i can have pics of project starting here soon.
    Sell MKIV HKS cams & buy the 1jz HKS cams.. simpler method than machining the cams..
    Getting out Boosted by Turbobozzer... for now...

  4. #28
    SupraForums Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    Milwaukee
    Age
    36
    Posts
    929
    Someone should update the link to 1jz-get.us to http://www.supra-1jz.us/legacy/92Supra6.html

  5. Remove Advertisements
    SupraForums.com
    Advertisements
     

  6. #29
    Banned
    Join Date
    Apr 2016
    Location
    United States
    Posts
    1
    good job andy,that notice ist good

  7. #30
    SupraForums Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    ....
    Posts
    1,207
    No problem man.
    Last edited by IBoughtASupra; 01-14-2017 at 10:15 PM.

  8. #31
    Newbie
    Join Date
    Nov 2017
    Location
    spencer new york
    Posts
    3
    ok hopefully this will be easy to answer im doing a 2jzge vvti swap into a mk3 that was turbo. im using an r154 trans is the guide basically gonna be the same?

  9. #32
    Unlimited Time Attack A70 Twin2Turbo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    Mill Creek, Wa
    Posts
    3,540
    yes
    -Nick

    1JZ|Link|Precision|Brembo|DBA|Tilton|Carrillo|Diamond|InjectorDynamic|TurboSmart|Technico|ATI|BC|HKS|And Everything Else|
    My Build Thread <-> Www.projecthighrpm.com

  10. #33
    SupraForums Member Jostar's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    Chicago IL
    Age
    38
    Posts
    3,318
    Quote Originally Posted by supra_boy30 View Post
    ok hopefully this will be easy to answer im doing a 2jzge vvti swap into a mk3 that was turbo. im using an r154 trans is the guide basically gonna be the same?
    NOT!!! worth it!!! get a GTE VVTI instead, Save your money for standalone while you at it, Stock ecu are not very friendly.

  11. #34
    Unlimited Time Attack A70 Twin2Turbo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    Mill Creek, Wa
    Posts
    3,540
    agreed, the VVTI GE have weak rods and are not worth using unless you have redone the bottom end.

  12. #35
    Newbie
    Join Date
    Nov 2017
    Location
    spencer new york
    Posts
    3
    Right now the plan is to just get the car running and it’s the cheapest way I’ve found so far later I will forge the internals before I try to improve the hp

  13. #36
    SupraForums Member Jostar's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    Chicago IL
    Age
    38
    Posts
    3,318
    You will have a hard time with the stock ECU since it is a OBDII ecu.. good luck..

  14. #37
    Newbie
    Join Date
    Nov 2017
    Location
    spencer new york
    Posts
    3
    Quote Originally Posted by Jostar View Post
    You will have a hard time with the stock ECU since it is a OBDII ecu.. good luck..
    but is it possible? im ok with having a hard time this car has been sitting for 7 years with no motor. so any progress is good progress
    also lets say I go standalone who should I go with? who has the best support?
    Last edited by supra_boy30; 12-20-2017 at 08:55 AM.

  15. #38
    SupraForums Member Jostar's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    Chicago IL
    Age
    38
    Posts
    3,318
    Quote Originally Posted by supra_boy30 View Post
    but is it possible? im ok with having a hard time this car has been sitting for 7 years with no motor. so any progress is good progress
    also lets say I go standalone who should I go with? who has the best support?
    ECUMASTER, Best ECU for the money and support is GREAT!!!!

  16. #39

    Join Date
    Mar 2018
    Location
    Toyota Supra & VW Golf - Nebraska
    Posts
    5
    Are there any good Tuner shops in the Midwest to do a 2jzgte swap on my 1991 Supra, I live in Nebraska?

  17. #40
    SupraForums Member seoul4korea's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    San Diego
    Posts
    923
    Quote Originally Posted by Supraman91_2jz View Post
    Are there any good Tuner shops in the Midwest to do a 2jzgte swap on my 1991 Supra, I live in Nebraska?
    FSR In cali does remote tuning, they are owned by driftmotion.

  18. #41

    Join Date
    Mar 2018
    Location
    Toyota Supra & VW Golf - Nebraska
    Posts
    5
    do you have a phone number or website for FSR?

  19. #42
    SupraForums Member seoul4korea's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    San Diego
    Posts
    923

  20. #43
    hello guys where can i get a wiring harness for a 2jz gte swap into mk3 i live in europe?

+ Reply to Thread
Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 1 2

Quick Reply Quick Reply

Register Now

Please enter the name by which you would like to log-in and be known on this site.

Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

List your Car(s)

Where you live

Please select your insurance company (Optional)

Your Supra's Vehichle Identification Number (Not visible to the public)

Log-in

Similar Threads

  1. Replies: 12
    Last Post: 05-08-2012, 07:18 AM
  2. How easy is it to swap a 1JZ-GTE with a 2JZ-GTE?
    By FuMoFFuTT in forum 1JZ/2JZ Swap
    Replies: 14
    Last Post: 02-20-2011, 02:23 PM
  3. 1jz-gte to 2jz-gtw swap
    By supra demon in forum MKIV Technical
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 11-23-2004, 08:49 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •