About to order my AEM EMS V2 for my supra

+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: About to order my AEM EMS V2 for my supra

  1. #1
    SUPRAFICIAL KODYHUGHES's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    CA
    Age
    30
    Posts
    1,518

    About to order my AEM EMS V2 for my supra

    Ok, i can't find anywhere on here for even google for what i need answered.

    First off its a 1994 toyota supra mkiv 2jzge

    The ecu thats in it is a 98 ??????

    The ecu is is a 2jzge - MT but it has the numbers 98. And my engine is an OBD1. So idk how that works out. But im about to choose the AEM EMS V2 30-6101. But it that says i believe that it only fits supra/sc300 models 93-97. Does this matter ?

    Also i plumed the wires for the map and IAT through the fire wall and just out of curiosity i routed them in the locations they recommend and the car wouldn't even start. Soon as i disconnected the ground wires from the IAT and MAP sensor ( which aren't even connected) the car runs.

    Im wondering if im going to have the same issue when i plug in the AEM EMS v2 ??? When i tap that ground wire on the ecu hookup will it just die or will it completely fix that problem ?

    Im also wondering where the MAP sensor should mount ? before or after throttle body ? aswell as where should the IAT mount ?

    Im not going to be able to run an maf so i must have full control on the map. Its important that the wires be tapped correctly.


    Lastly, on the back of my ecu there are ALOT of pins that are just plugged, and some of those plugged pins AEM wants to be creating its own circuit. Does aem include pins like that to just plug in with wires so the circuit can be completed ? or do i have to look online to find the right pins. If so can someone link me ?



    Thank you !!!!!!


    Quote Originally Posted by Silver Supra View Post
    Now that is a shade tree mechanic!

  2. Remove Advertisements
    SupraForums.com
    Advertisements
     

  3. #2
    SupraForums Member aphlux's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    Texas
    Posts
    1,659
    Map sensor should always see manifold vacuum no matter what, so after the throttle body. IAT should be before the throttle body, but as close as you can get.

    You can run a 6100/6101 on either motor, doesnt matter. when you see the pinouts youll understand it, but the 6101 is cheaper than the 6100. Just follow the 6101 pinout for the sensors, youll be fine.
    http://txcars.blogspot.com/

    A photodump of car pictures i've done while in Texas

  4. #3
    SUPRAFICIAL KODYHUGHES's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    CA
    Age
    30
    Posts
    1,518
    Mkay sounds good, Im hoping the EMS comes with pins to insert into the ecu connector because the pins the ems wants used are plugged.

    I also see on the instructions that its not compatible with the GE style MAF, but then later on it reads you can keep it on. Some people are telling me to try my best at keeping the MAF for drive ability and that it actually is better to have for daily driving. If this is true i am willing to drill a hole into the intake for the turbo and just take the MAF out of the factory housing and tap some threads for the screws to mount it. But then again if the ems doesn't like it there im not going to do that.

  5. Remove Advertisements
    SupraForums.com
    Advertisements
     

  6. #4

    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Location
    AL
    Posts
    18
    Just bought a 6101 from MVP, can confirm it comes with extra pins if you buy it new.

  7. #5
    SupraForums Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Location
    Denver CO
    Posts
    955
    no one uses a maf on a standalone, someone has given you incorrect info. map sensor is great for daily driving if it is tuned right.
    you would have to tune if you used the maf anyways, just toss it in the ol parts bin of parts that will not be used again and move on, you will thank me later.

    2003 Lexus GX470 AWD (Lifted, Tundra wheels w/285's, Armored)
    2006 Audi B7 A4 (DTM + 2.7 Bi-turbo swap almost complete)
    1971 Corvette Stingray (350 TH400, a/c, pwr steering/brakes/windows)


    "Yeah I got launch control" (Points to left foot) :D

  8. #6
    SUPRAFICIAL KODYHUGHES's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    CA
    Age
    30
    Posts
    1,518
    Quote Originally Posted by Ali_SC3 View Post
    no one uses a maf on a standalone, someone has given you incorrect info. map sensor is great for daily driving if it is tuned right.
    you would have to tune if you used the maf anyways, just toss it in the ol parts bin of parts that will not be used again and move on, you will thank me later.
    Yeah i ended up with just working off map signal and IAT sensor mainly.

    I didn't end up getting the AEM though, went with the EMU standalone from ecu masters. Was much more affordable for a complete plug n play and only sensor i had to purchase was the IAT sensor since the emu has the map built in. So far the car is running great, just had the problem recently of my #1 cyl getting weaker. But its not noticeable as far as the car running. Love the way the car runs so far with the EMU.

+ Reply to Thread

Quick Reply Quick Reply

Register Now

Please enter the name by which you would like to log-in and be known on this site.

Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

List your Car(s)

Where you live

Please select your insurance company (Optional)

Your Supra's Vehichle Identification Number (Not visible to the public)

Log-in

Similar Threads

  1. Wiring AEM UEGO into my Supra TT w/ AEM EMS
    By medici78 in forum MKIV (1993-1998)
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 01-13-2004, 04:35 PM
  2. Replies: 0
    Last Post: 07-30-2003, 05:54 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •