GTE non VVTi to VVTi conversion, Facts and myths - Page 4

+ Reply to Thread
Page 4 of 6 FirstFirst 1 2 3 4 5 6 LastLast
Results 76 to 100 of 144

Thread: GTE non VVTi to VVTi conversion, Facts and myths

  1. #76
    SupraForums Member
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    San Diego
    Posts
    3,549
    Quote Originally Posted by Krister View Post
    What do you mean by adjusting TDC ignition offset?
    According to that thread, with the VVTi, you would need to run wasted spark. Any input on this?
    He means you need to re-sync your base timing which will be way off for a couple of reasons. One being that you are now reading the rear cam sensor which is 360 degrees out from the front.
    You most certainly can run sequential ignition on a VVTi motor. I know for a fact my ProEFI does because I tested it by pulling the coils and watching each one fire individually.
    Last edited by cwtt; 06-29-2015 at 12:44 AM.

  2. Remove Advertisements
    SupraForums.com
    Advertisements
     

  3. #77
    SupraForums Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2002
    Location
    Ft. Worth Texas
    Posts
    2,183
    Quote Originally Posted by Krister View Post

    Also I've been doing some reading and came across this:
    http://www.adaptronic.com.au/forum/i...p?topic=2634.0

    According to that thread, with the VVTi, you would need to run wasted spark. Any input on this?

    That's not right. I don't know if that guy is explaining an inability of that ecu to interpret the VVTi triggers or that he doesn't realize that 3 cam teeth will output one tooth on one rev and two teeth on the next. The way the AEM triggers is it'll look for the missing teeth section, then count how many cam teeth pass before the next missing tooth section (1 rev). When it sees exactly 1 or exactly 2 (you can set it either way, it makes no difference) then it'll be completely sync'd and can run full sequential. Since it knows what cycle it's on, even with only 3 coils, each ignition event can be assigned to each cylinder. So if you wanted to apply an ignition trim to cylinder 1 only, you could do so and cylinder 6 ignition timing would not be affected.
    1997 GE VVTi 6spd

  4. #78
    Stock Twins King Stu Hagen's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    Kirkland, Wa.
    Posts
    4,315
    Funny that in just the last year or so, VVTi heads have become the "in" thing....Marshall was pounding on me to do this when I went Vipec...But with the spool characteristics I have with the Seq GT28s I felt I would not gain that much to warrant the change....That and I am not sure no one makes aftermarket cams. Word is GSC is getting closer to making this happen...It isn't just a US Market thing, it really is world wide..

  5. Remove Advertisements
    SupraForums.com
    Advertisements
     

  6. #79
    SupraForums Member NgoFcukinWay's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Location
    Houston
    Age
    31
    Posts
    1,061
    Tomei makes aftermarket cams.
    1993.5 Toyota Supra ....with stuff.... .... and it's sorta broken....
    1998 Toyota Celica ....this one, too, has stuff.... ....and it's broken....

  7. #80
    SupraForums Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    So Cal
    Posts
    99
    I have a VVTI head conversion in progress. Can't wait to post the results/findings. This thread has been an interesting read thus far. Thanks all.
    Sold:
    White/Blk '95 6 spd w/ 50k miles VVT-i Kaizen R Package | HKS 4" TI Race | VVTI Tomei Cams | AEM Infinity | Comp CT6X | Virtual Works Intake/Exhaust manifolds, Downpipe | FIC 2150s | RPS Triple Carbon |

  8. #81
    SupraForums Member supralover93's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Location
    Sacramento, ca
    Age
    34
    Posts
    4,519
    quick question.
    is it a must to change the timing gear to the 32 tooth? or can that be adjusted for in the V2?
    in the older block (no oil line port) is there a boss there that can be drilled and tapped for the banjo?

    thank you
    §§
    93 turbo targa
    auto
    BPU

  9. #82
    SupraForums Member Olav's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2013
    Location
    Norway
    Posts
    166
    Quote Originally Posted by Stu Hagen View Post
    Funny that in just the last year or so, VVTi heads have become the "in" thing....Marshall was pounding on me to do this when I went Vipec...But with the spool characteristics I have with the Seq GT28s I felt I would not gain that much to warrant the change....That and I am not sure no one makes aftermarket cams. Word is GSC is getting closer to making this happen...It isn't just a US Market thing, it really is world wide..
    It definitely has become the "in" thing. I was at this years Bilsport Custom Motor Show in Sweden (scandinavia's sema if you like) and 90% of all 2JZ's were now VVTI's, last year only a handfull of them had VVTI. I'm curious how the VVTI system will keep up on all the drift and track car's it has been implemented in recently.
    1994 - TRD Widebody Eurospec
    1997 - Nissan S13,5 JDM import drift car, 2JZ swap incoming

  10. #83
    SupraForums Member MRN20's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2001
    Location
    Destin FL
    Age
    41
    Posts
    119
    Any shops in FL doing this modification yet?
    Last edited by MRN20; 08-04-2015 at 09:38 PM. Reason: Spelling
    Supra...

  11. #84
    SupraForums Member FDNewbie's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    Tampa
    Posts
    410
    Quote Originally Posted by MRN20 View Post
    Any shops in FL doing this modiciation yet?
    I'm wondering if Induction Performance does it. If not, they'll be doing it soon enough (hint hint) haha.

  12. #85
    SupraForums Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    Finland
    Age
    38
    Posts
    5,330
    Well I'm sold. Havent advanced the cam fully yet, just 17.5 degrees and gained almost 450rpm of spool on my 80mm turbo.

    1bar of boost at 4000rpm on a 80mm turbo is pretty damn nice. Other setup is 3.3 stroker and 10:1 compression.

    These were done at 5th gear on the road.

    VVTi map at zero:

    Advanced 17.5 degrees:
    Last edited by Krister; 08-09-2015 at 05:05 AM.

  13. #86
    SupraForums Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    214
    Blog Entries
    1
    Hi Krister

    17,5° is this to the crank ?

    Thomas

  14. #87
    SupraForums Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    214
    Blog Entries
    1
    Krister sorry I meant is this camshafts Timing 17,5°

  15. #88
    SupraForums Member F E R N A N D E Z's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Location
    Copenhagen Denmark
    Posts
    202
    Question:
    Are the gte VVTI & GE cams the same ?

    Thanks
    Danny

  16. #89
    SupraForums Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2015
    Location
    NYC
    Posts
    106
    Sub'd for upcoming swap.

  17. #90
    SupraForums Member supralover93's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Location
    Sacramento, ca
    Age
    34
    Posts
    4,519
    Same here lol

  18. #91
    SupraForums Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2013
    Location
    Evans, Colorado
    Posts
    351
    Would it be possible to run the vvti with something like an apexi neo if your on a stock obd1 ecu?

  19. #92
    spracingonline.com DentGuy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Location
    Algonquin, IL
    Age
    37
    Posts
    2,875
    Quote Originally Posted by 94Auto View Post
    Would it be possible to run the vvti with something like an apexi neo if your on a stock obd1 ecu?
    I dont believe so.
    Bob W.
    MoTeC M150

  20. #93
    SupraForums Member supralover93's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Location
    Sacramento, ca
    Age
    34
    Posts
    4,519
    i dont think the NEO has anything to do with vvti control.

  21. #94
    SupraForums Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2013
    Location
    Evans, Colorado
    Posts
    351
    Apparently Neo only can control VTEC
    Last edited by 94Auto; 10-24-2015 at 02:04 PM.

  22. #95
    Glad to be back Patjza80's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    Lexington, Ky
    Age
    35
    Posts
    2,180
    Subscribed!
    1994 Blk/Blk Supra TT 6-Spd - Precision 6266 - 719whp/588wtq @ 31PSI - 1000cc/E85 - GSC S1 Cams - Haltech Elite - 19" CCW 505As




    Have CCWs or thinking about buying them? Please read my thread. Might save you some trouble.

    https://www.supraforums.com/forum/sho...d.php?t=584653

  23. #96
    SupraForums Member ATLspeed's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    Laurel, MD
    Posts
    162
    I'm really considering going vvti this go round. Ideally vvti is recommended for those with stand alone to make the switch "easier". Is there anyone who runs the stock vvti ecu in a mk4? Getting a harness made would be great but also wasted money as I see it.

    *I'm going through boost withdrawal ever since my 2j/s13 took a poop on me lol.

  24. #97

    Join Date
    Oct 2015
    Location
    California
    Posts
    5
    Anybody here have a 2jzgte vvti and have over 1000hp?? Just curious cause I 1000hp vvti supra

  25. #98

    Join Date
    Mar 2014
    Location
    Alabama
    Posts
    96
    To those curious, on Pre-1995 Blocks:
    I've gotten a 1/8bspt to 4AN Male adapter from Mcmaster-Carr and I've gotten a Banjo fitting with a 6AN male fitting from Summit Racing. My only concern is the check valve in the factory setup. Has anyone successfully ran a VVTi head without this check valve?

    I'm going to be running the IS300/VVTi GTE Banjo Bolt with a T-adapter from Pegasus Racing with a 4AN turbo feed off of that location (GE Block). And that should solve my oiling issues using a Old (first) style block with a VVTI GTE head.
    1999 GS300 GTE VVTi Swap
    Built 3.0L - IP-4000. - TRD LSD - AEMv2 - Pump Gas

  26. #99

    Join Date
    Oct 2015
    Location
    California
    Posts
    5
    I have a gte vvti motor is my car and I love it

  27. #100
    spracingonline.com DentGuy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Location
    Algonquin, IL
    Age
    37
    Posts
    2,875
    Quote Originally Posted by Alabamaguy View Post
    To those curious, on Pre-1995 Blocks:
    I've gotten a 1/8bspt to 4AN Male adapter from Mcmaster-Carr and I've gotten a Banjo fitting with a 6AN male fitting from Summit Racing. My only concern is the check valve in the factory setup. Has anyone successfully ran a VVTi head without this check valve?

    I'm going to be running the IS300/VVTi GTE Banjo Bolt with a T-adapter from Pegasus Racing with a 4AN turbo feed off of that location (GE Block). And that should solve my oiling issues using a Old (first) style block with a VVTI GTE head.
    Im not using a check valve and theres no issue with VVTi function

+ Reply to Thread
Page 4 of 6 FirstFirst 1 2 3 4 5 6 LastLast

Quick Reply Quick Reply

Register Now

Please enter the name by which you would like to log-in and be known on this site.

Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

List your Car(s)

Where you live

Please select your insurance company (Optional)

Your Supra's Vehichle Identification Number (Not visible to the public)

Log-in

Similar Threads

  1. 1JZ-GTE VVTi drive by wire conversion????? !HELP!
    By I_LOVE_BOOST in forum General Supra Forum
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 06-18-2014, 11:28 PM
  2. 1jz gte vvti head 2jz gte (non vvti) block
    By memoriesofmotion in forum MKIV (1993-1998)
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 07-26-2012, 01:50 AM
  3. Replies: 3
    Last Post: 01-06-2009, 12:56 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •