Supra Forums banner

1 - 20 of 23 Posts

·
Registered
103 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
OK, so I want to replace the center bearing for my stock driveshaft.

However, I wonder:

1)Why did Toyota make 2-piece driveshaft which in theory is more costly than making 1-piece?

2)Who has replaced the stock shaft to 1-piece and what are your experiences with two different driveshafts?

4)Which way is more cost-effective in the long run?

5)What are the advantages and disadvantages between the two designs?

Hopefully these questions will help others in the future as well. Any input would be greatly appreciated. Thanks for your time and thoughts in advance. :)

·
Registered
17 Posts
I would go with a one peice aluminum. I sell drive shafts for a living and many of my customers prefer to go with the one peice alum. The reasons I know of that they are lighter and there is less to go wrong with them. I'm not sure why some car companies make two peice drive shafts on smaller cars. Cars like the extended cab s10 i know need it due to the length. Shorter cars like a Mustang/Camaro/240SX/Supra should be converted especially if you beat on the cars. You'll save weight and repair costs. I'm sure most people on this board are familiar with the cost of a new hanger bearing. Parts can be expensive and scarce. This is why we usually make our own design and use a one peice alum. I hope that contributed somthing to the topic. :)

·
Registered
212 Posts
i have the 1 piece drive shaft and i love it. i also noticed my car get a little more responsive/torquier when i put this on (its seems crazy, but its true) i think thats because tho, i had a little slack in my 2 piece.....either way, i recommend it....

·
Fatty McFatty pants
1,279 Posts
thanks, and interesting...anyone else?
did you even bother reading that thread? looks like you seem to be missing the whole point,