Supra Forums banner
1 - 18 of 18 Posts

·
Registered
1988 Toyota Supra
16 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Today I took the time to take a few quick photos of my new project car. I'd like to preface this post by saying I am a total noob in the automotive industry, as well as the whole world of cars.
I'm totally in over my head with this project but I have a lot of resources available and some very knowledgeable people behind me if I ever need help.
That being said, I am using this car as a platform to get more familiarized with doing automotive repairs. I'm a tow operator for an auto repair shop and have been working in the shop learning and lubing for a little under a year.

I was lucky enough to acquire the Supra from my dad, who had parked it 4ish years ago and recently decided to let me have it and bring it back to life.
There's quite a bit of things that need addressing with this car and I know I will miss some stuff but here's what I know so far.

1. The transmission has some kind of issue, it acts fussy according to my dad. I need to look more into it to actually know what's wrong but from what he's said it sounds like a shift solenoid?
2. It has major rust rot along the front windshield pillars. The window actually lifts away from the body about a 1/4in.
3. Possible exhaust leak somewhere, not sure yet.
4. Hazards work, turn signals do not.
5. Temp, tac, and fuel level gauges are all inop.
6. Dome lights do not work.
7. Car was originally parked because it ate oil according to my dad. After going through the engine bay it appears to have had some pretty good leaks somewhere. Lot's of caked on grime. Once car gets warmed up enough (takes about 6 miles of driving through rural backroads) it starts smoking from the exhaust manifold side of the motor. \