Supra Forums banner

1 - 20 of 26 Posts

·
Registered
23 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello everyone! I am taking on a new project this winter. I bought a 1992 Supra Turbo Targa with a 2JZ GE motor. I want to move the intake to the cold side, which would require me to remove or close off many systems that run with the throttle body.

I have a new intake (Pictured) and would like to know if anyone has done this before. Has anyone encountered any problems while doing it? What kind of throttle body should I buy?

I have an ECU MASTERS EMU with the PNP harness for the 7M motor.

The motor is currently running on the 7M ECU with an out of date SAFC2 Piggyback. To be honest the car runs like shit. I am ready to give it a good update. Any help with knowledge is wanted!

Attachments

·
Registered
77 Posts
I installed mine a few months back, but my intake is different than yours. Is your EGR deleted?

Here's a starting point.
1. I'd start by removing all of the ugly stuff, throttle body, Y-pipe, etc.
2. It's good practice to buy a new gasket for the intake.
3. Measure the intake diameter and make sure you get the correctly sized throttle body and gasket.
4. Make sure there are mounting points for the sensors (TPS, etc.)
5. Make sure you make a new mounting point for the hood latch.

·
Registered
23 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
I installed mine a few months back, but my intake is different than yours. Is your EGR deleted?

Here's a starting point.
3. Measure the intake diameter and make sure you get the correctly sized throttle body and gasket.

Thanks for the tips! I do not think the car is EGR Deleted, given how sloppy this build was for the previous owner. However I'm not sure how to tell. How are throttle bodies measured? in MM?

·
Registered
23 Posts
Discussion Starter #4

Here's a starting point.

·
Registered
77 Posts