Supra Forums banner
1 - 20 of 76 Posts

· Banned
44 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
Okay...I need help

I bought a OS giken quad disk. Somebody needs to explain these symptoms to me...

First of all I have a brand new master slave with dot 4 fluid. WHEN THE CAR IS NOT RUNNING, the clutch pedal feels GREAT, engages and depresses very nicely.

AS SOON AS I START THE CAR and push in the clutch its a WHOLE different ballgame...it feels spongy and sticky and if I push the pedal to the floor, it comes up a little bit, then sticks, then comes up a bit more, then sticks, and so on. Its very sticky and feels VERY awkward.

I've contacted OS giken, they're not sure what it is causing this.

I dont want this to go into OS giken related...has anybody ever heard of this happening first of all? I need some suggestions here.

The car drove fine for 100 miles, then all of a sudden at a stop light the pedal pressure feels spongy and sticky and from then on...its been shit. I pulled the trans tonight, didnt see anything unusual...

· Glad to be back
3,478 Posts
Well if you don't see any brake fluid leaking anywhere and the pull to push conversion was installed correctly then perhaps you had air in the lines.

Maybe your new master and slave wasn't bled all the way??
Thats what I was going to suggest as well. Sounds like maybe there is air stuck in the line somewhere. Have you tried a power brake bleeder? I've had pretty good experiance out of them.

2,739 Posts
It sounds to me that you installed the pull to push conversion wrong, but then again it worked for 100 miles.

Did you do anything to the clutch setup between those first 100 miles? If so, Id start there.

· EchoDeDupra
7,159 Posts
I'd take this opportunity to upgrade to a Stainless Steel Clutch line if you haven't already done so, then completely bleed the system and report back.

· Con CaC May
878 Posts