Supra Forums banner

1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
My father recently picked up an mk3 with a completely stock block 2j/ bw s366 single/ th400 w/trans brake and 4200 stall. Im completely new to the track scene and the th400 scene and have always ran a 6 speed mk4 so hopefully you guys can point me in the right direction. This thing is a complete dog trying to spool it on the line to get a decent launch (probably 15-20 seconds pedal to the floor to get it into boost). Whats our issue here? Good buddy of mine recommended doing a small 50 shot to help it spool but would like to keep it off the spray if possible. Once it gets into boost its an animal! If any of you guys can make any recommendations and help me learn a few things id appreciate it!

·
Registered
668 Posts
how many rpms are you hitting on the brake loaded up (I assume you are on the cars brakes and not a trans brake?)

what electronics are you running (stock jz, stand alone etc).

is it powering through the brakes so that you are feathering off the gas --- or are you saying the brakes hold the car for a solid 15 seconds before boost starts to build

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
I should have been more clear. The car is on AEM and starts to spool around 4k, it takes us about 10-15 seconds on trans brake to even get this thing into boost therefore, getting tree'd on every single pass (thank god we dont race competitively) I just spoke with the previous owner who stated they never got it fine tuned because it would always push through foot brake before they installed the trans brake. Pullng a little timing may help us a bit.

·
Banned
96 Posts
Nitrous is a cheap/easy solution.... tuning the ecu to make the turbo spool easier by pulling timing near the boost threshold will help. A LOT of this is physical parts setup, however. As in, your hotside might be too large. Your stall might not be high enough.