Supra Forums banner

1 - 20 of 63 Posts

·
Registered
66 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello All - sorry if this is too long.

I'm seriously looking into getting a 1987-1992 MKIII turbo. A little back ground - I've been racing (street and drag) my 1989 Mustang GT for 9 years now. Its current combo is a 408ci windsor (351w stroker) making [email protected] and 580ft/[email protected] that runs 11.0'[email protected] naturally aspirated/pump gas and [email protected] with a 125 shot. I've been using DSM's as my daily driver for almost as long. They (DSM's) used to make good sleepers, but now, every kid has one and is making decent power, thus they're no longer a sleeper. My last setup was a 1995TSi with large FMIC and ported 16G turbo which made 290fwhp. In a 2800lb car, 290hp makes for a fairly quick car. Being FWD, it didnt make a drag car, but I took it several times anyways to watch MPH. Best MPH was 108.

I would like a MKIII with about the same performance. I'm NOT looking to build a car suited for the strip, rather one for street duty that would trap 106-110mph. I assume (ass-u-me) this will require about 330-340hp and a little weight reduction. First performance mod's I'll do will be to remove the A/C and all components and remove the front and rear bumper support. This should help it drop about 50-75lbs (or more?), no? The second "mod" will be to get a set of ARP head bolts/studs and metal head gasket. I still have my SAFC/egt gauge and large FMIC from the DSM - and seeing how there's plenty of room in the front bumper (in comparison to the 2G DSM) of the MKIII, I think the FMIC will fit. I make my own exhausts (have for my last 3 DSM's), so that'll come next - a 3" turbo back exh. What else is needed to get to the 330-340hp mark?