Supra Forums banner
1 - 13 of 13 Posts

· "Yeah! Take the lemons.."
1,022 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I'm having trouble tearing down my 7mgte I got in on thurs. I'm trying to separate the head and block so I can have it machined but having alot of unexpected issues.. been feeling pretty frustrated and hopeless.. I've never done this before so that's probably why, but I don't want to give up. :sad:

I don't want to have to pay the shop to do it mainly because I'm on a budget and I want to learn from this firsthand since I've taken a liking to Supras.

I was wondering if there's anyone on here in the South Bay, Southern California around LA county. I'll be working on this all through the weekend and weekday until I have it in my 89 supra.

If anyone feels like lending a helping hand and has free time I could really use some help! :doh:

· The Great Kruso
4,230 Posts
If you're running into a problem post it here, pictures help a ton and most of the knowledgeable folks here on SF will be able to walk you through anything. If you're asking for a lending help then post in the regional section and see if you find a few local guys there.

Kruso

· Registered
472 Posts
Forget the bag & zip-tie route, this is fine for someone with a lot of mechanic experience, but for a newbie, you want to stop what you are doing and prepare a little more. Start by taking plenty of pics and some video of where everything goes, use a piece of cardboard to hold the bolts and place it the item that the bolts belong to. Tape and mark hoses wires, vacuum lines w/corresponding #'s to their location on the engine. It is a lot of work to prep engine for tear down, but it makes the rebuild a breeze.

The PO of my Supra did the bag thing w/nothing labeled other than the bags. The rebuild process took for ever, even though I have been working on cars as a hobby for 20yrs. If it weren't for the FSM link above I might still be trying to get the engine to run.

1,022 Posts
Discussion Starter · #8 ·