Supra Forums banner

1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello everybody I'm new to the Forum I I am a technician by trade but haven't really worked on much old stuff I have a 1988 Toyota Supra that I recently acquired ran and drove really really good for a while I let sit for a couple days and now I can't get it to start I've pulled the check engine light codes I got code 12 I have replace the distributor and checked for broken wires reset the computer but still get code 12 for the CPS.

im wondering what else I should check before putting a ecu in it and if I do need to put a ecu in the car do I need to match up any numbers? Etc
I'm so used to having to get everything reflashed/reprogrammed I have a feeling I'm overcomplicating this

And before someone says it i have used the search engines I just may not be using the right key words

·
Registered
406 Posts

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
I've mostly read that topic if I missed something in it im no sure what, but I've also read a lot of posts my have missed something

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
Also I may not have stated this but I have no spark. But unless I am overthinking it again. Wouldn't the OBD1 code 12 turn off spark because the ecu has no idea what rpms are

·
Registered
406 Posts
Sounds like it could be ECU based on your troubleshooting. ECU going bad randomly is a problem these cars suffer from. Follow the TSRM

·
Registered
48 Posts
you can remove cps and spark plugs to test by hand. unplug fuel pump. spin cps and trace signal with an oscilloscope to ecu, igt at ignitor, spark plug. cps goes out much more often than ecu. the manual also lists simple voltmeter tests for the ecu. if those are all ok i would be even more doubtful of ecu failure.

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter #7