Supra Forums banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
10 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
so im on the highway going about 60 and i hear this really weird noise coming from the engine. so i let off the gas lil bit & the noise would stop & when i step on the gas again the noise would get louder & louder. and the car started jerkin & jittering. & i had a feeling wat was coming next. & of course the engine cut off & i pull over to the break down lane before the car completely stopped. & there was smoke coming from the hood so i popped the hood & i dnt think i ever seen so much smoke before. i honestly thought the car was gonna blow up. soo long story short i got the car towed to a garage the next day & the mechanic said that my engine is pretty much done & im gonna need to get a new engine. there was absolutely no oil/lubrication & he said that caused the engine to pretty much melt its self away.

i guess i need a new engine so now im screwed seeing how i'm a full-time student working a shitty part time job.
the supra is my pride & joy & i would hate to lose it.
wat do u guys think i should do? wat would u do in my situation?
keep the car, find new engine, sell the car, etc?
thanxxx.

·
Banned
5,941 Posts
Do you have another mode of transportation? If so then I say keep the body if it's in good working condition. A 7MGTE can be had for peanuts nowadays. One thing though, if you haven't taken the car back to your home, do that cause the tech will start to charge you fees for holding the car there.

-Alex

·
still dreamin.....
1,159 Posts
sooo you ran it without oil???

but really keep the body andswap becausesupras arent worth getting rid for something like this...

·
Registered
55 Posts

·
Registered
10 Posts
Discussion Starter #9
how did this go from a blown engine to fat chicks...

anyways, the body is in mint condition. i got a new paint job about a year ago & not a spot of rust anywere. it would be a huge loss to give up on my supra & let it go.