Supra Forums banner

1 - 20 of 51 Posts

·
Registered
180 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
So all winter I've been picking away at the 7M, and now it's a completely stripped block. Follow along as I rebuild it with tools most of you have around your garages. This is a regular rebuild of a 124k engine that blew a head gasket 20 years ago and the car was then parked near Mt. Rainier in Washington state south of Seattle until we bought it in 2018 and trailered it home. Plan is for it to roll by Memorial Day. I'm not a pro, but have a long career in the automotive field at corporate and have restored a dozen cars or so.

The engine block had water/coolant in a cylinder and another had rust blisters on the cylinder walls from the valves being open and 20 years of heat cycles. It was seized due to the rings, and I determined to take my time and free it up. I soaked all cylinders with Kroil for months. Gently popped it free, used Naval Jelly to dissolve the cylinder rust, then took 6 bore measurements in each cylinder per the book and it looks to have been very well treated because the cylinders are all square, and hardly worn. it's a small thing, but I want a numbers matching car when it's all said and done.

I decked the block where the fire rings had made some dents, using a slab of marble and sandpaper, finishing at 220 grit and leaving a surface finish appropriate to a plain jane aftermarket HG. It's part of a complete engine seal kit I ordered from Rock Auto. For a total of $380 with shipping I also ordered a timing belt kit with water pump, Clevite rings, full bearings, accessory belts, new hoses, motor mounts and a few other little things. Add in a thread chaser to clean up the head bolt holes, a can of black gloss paint to make the block and oil pan pretty again, the sandpaper and a few things, I'l probably be under $500 and it should be pretty fresh and even look good.