Supra Forums banner

1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
3,249 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
a few questions for the gurus

1) I knew it burned oil when i bought it, but now it appears that the supra also is going through coolant. Those and the waterfall noise behind the dash tells me that I've become victimized by the BHG. I'm no mechanic, but I've got a friend who works at a Toyota/Mercedes dealership as a mechanic who said he'd do the top end of the motor for $500 plus parts. While he's doing the head gasket (and most likely valve seals), what else should i replace? I'm going with a MHG and ARP bolts (or studs, which should i go with) so the fucker doesn't ever blow again.

2) I noticed today that my blow off valve sounds like it's "fluttering." instead of a nice "pssssh" it's going "pstststs" if you can understand. everything on this car is stock. should i be worried?

3) sometimes i can turn they key all the way to crank in order to start the key and hold it there for a couple seconds before the starter kicks in. is this normal?

4) i get some shakes on the highway at about 100 and beyond. as this pic shows :

my car sits sky high stock. would a good set of springs correct this problem? what's a good spring that doesn't make the car too stiff, so driving is still enjoyable? should i say "fuck off" and pull the TEMS out or find something that works with it (i personally enjoy the option).

5) while the car is being fixed this winter, i was going to pull out the climate control, the dash, and all the buttons to change the bulbs. maybe even change the colors (ala bishops car) to a nice blue/green to match my stereo (and exterior). where's a good reference to find the equipment and parts i'll need? electrical is one thing i AM good at, so this'll be the easiest part for me.