Supra Forums banner

1 - 18 of 18 Posts

·
Registered
1,192 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
I've been running hall cam/crank sensors for about 10 years on my built 2jz-ge motor to allow the use of TT aftermarket cams on the GE head, but the V1 now has dated features. So, I've decided to upgrade to V2 to run e85 and figured someone might benefit by adding hall support to their V2. Here's what I did.

First, I created a simple circuit board with jumpers to allow either variable reluctance or hall. Then, I found through-holes on the main circuit board for the grounds and 5v sources for the resistors. I also had to solder the signal wires onto the surface mount pads after removing the surface mount resistors. And finally, I found a place to mount the board inside the V2 with external access to the jumpers.

I used 2.2k ohm resistors for the Hall 5v pull-ups and 4.7k ohms for the Variable Reluctance voltage dividers.

The attached images are all done from my phone; so, I apologize ahead of time if they don't come through.

Thanks,
-scott

Attachments

·
Registered
3 Posts
Hi, I'm from Russia, I saw that you are running the Hall sensors on 2 JZGTE, can you help me with calibration aem ems 2 for hall sensors ????

·
Registered
1,192 Posts
Discussion Starter #6 (Edited)
As mentioned in the first post, I really wanted to run big cams on the GE head; so, that's the motivation. 10 years ago there were no big cam options for the GE head. Plus the car starts right up; consequently, there are no issues with signal integrity as is sometimes encountered with variable reluctance sensors.

I'm still running cam and crank off the exhaust cam gear using 12 north polarity rare-earth magnets and 1 south pole magnet. So, it requires a dual-pole Hall Sensor, and the effective number of crank teeth is 12 for a 720 deg engine cycle.