Supra Forums banner
1 - 4 of 4 Posts
G

·
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I'm a bit of a newbie and looking into buying a single turbo supra with midsized turbo (65-70mm compressor, ~.7 A/R)

If i do get a supra ti will have to perform daily driving duties. Since i can't very well afford to drive around with 100+ octane race fuel all the time, but would still like to enjoy the fun of 600rwhp on occasion i was wondering what my options were, and what people recommended and/or what was common, i'd really like input from daily driven singles. I think the easiest way to do this is to list what i understand the options to be and you guys can correct/add to what i have:

1) 93 octane pump gas. I'd probably just drive around with the boost controller set around 14-15 psi or let the boost be controlled by the wastegate with BC off. And then turn boost to 18-20 psi for spirited driving and/or race. How safe is occasionally boosting this high on pump gas. How much damage is done by occasional detonation pre-ignition, i've heard its not quite as fatal as with the beloved rotary engine i'm so used to. At A/F ratios of around 11 and say 20 psi of boost, can detonation/preignition be avoided?

2)Alcohol or Water injection. A lot of rotary guys use water injection to safeguard against detonation. Is it real common among supra owners? What are the differences between water injection and alcohol or propane injection. Where do most guys mount the reservoirs? How much higher can i go on 93 octane with alcohol injection? Would 22-24 psi still be safe, or is water/alcohol injection kinda like a band-aid, when the only real solution is higher octane fuel?

Just looking options other than toluene, xylene or C-16

Since i won't necessarily be going with an AEM car, comments regarding timing and the ability to run more boost if you retard the timing are welcome, but i may not have that option.