Supra Forums banner

1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
11 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hey wasup folks. if you guys dont know im new here and im going to be picking up a 87 supra with a 2jz-ge, auto tranny. I got more info from my friend and yes, the car has a blown head gasket. Im new to engine building, So ive been doing some research and got this down so far

-Oem/HKS MHG (I never seen the car yet, if its in a better condition den what i think, im going to put in the HKS MHG. Not going to turbo or anything)

-ARP head stud kit

-Block + Head machined back to stock specs (If needed)

And i might need seal for the piston (not sure it thats what its called), because my friend said theres oil on spark plugs. If im missing anything you guys can chime in. I did all the research from my knowledge, and need some of the experts advice on what i may need to make this engine like new.

Also this car will most likely be a DD, so noneed for racing parts or anything. And i want to do it right the first time so i wont have to go through hell again

Much mahalo'z & Thanks in Advance!!!
dan

·
Registered
11 Posts
Discussion Starter #2
bump

I know a thread like this has been posted before, but juss want to make sure im on the right path on doing this

·
Registered
313 Posts
If I were you I would not mess with rebuilding that engine. Buy a low mileage engine from Japan, put new front and rear main seals, cam seals and a new timing belt and drop it in. If you don't have training rebuilding engines this would be the most economical thing for you to do. You may have to swap your oil pan and pickup tube off of your old engine it that truly is a 2jz-ge and not a 7m-ge in your 87 supra.
And if it is a 2jz you might also consider dropping in the 2jz-gte(twin turbo) in it. At factory boost, synthetic oil it would make a great daily driver.

·
Registered
11 Posts
Discussion Starter #6