Supra Forums banner
1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
91 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
The heat shield behind the turbo that covers the exhaust manifold, has anyone left that one off without any problems? Searched and couldn't find too much.

·
Registered
2,311 Posts
I have been running without them for 4 yrs now and no probs. Although my new manifold and turbo are jethot coated so its not as hot.

·
Registered
91 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
mines all stock, manifold and turbo

·
Registered
3,727 Posts
why would you wanna take it off in the first place? for the cool, look at my turbo exhaust housing or what?

·
Registered
2,311 Posts
Spoolme said:
why would you wanna take it off in the first place? for the cool, look at my turbo exhaust housing or what?
In my opinion it looks a lot better without them on there. If you take them off it will get a lil warmer under the hood but its not going to hurt anything.

·
Registered
375 Posts
you dont want warmer under the hood, just give that thing a good polish and it will look good, keeping it on there will help prevent against heat soak which is evil

·
Registered
91 Posts
Discussion Starter · #7 ·
Spoolme said:
yeh exactly because without it, it looks like a show car. NO, I finished building my motor today and realized I left it off. anyway I just finished putting it back on, I want this thing to be as good as I can get it.

·
Registered
1,317 Posts
No problems here running no heat shield either. It does get quite hot under there though. I could definately feel the difference with the heat shield on and off.

·
Registered
38 Posts
well chances are that the heat shield is there for a reason, but doesnt seem like it makes that big of a diff. so if your one of those who just wants it to look a little better, than I dont see any problems with it.

·
Registered
91 Posts
Discussion Starter · #10 ·
as i posted i put it back on, only reason being the 2 rubber lines that run close to the shield covering the manifold.

·