Supra Forums banner
1 - 20 of 33 Posts

·
11,217 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Well followup on the other thread...

Anyways, I think I'm gonna try to take my tranny out in my garage and send it away to take it away to a shop or something. It's a lot less complicated then trying to have the car towed and whatnots.

I've never done a tranny removal or anything before and know very little about the drivetrain. Anyone have the pdf manual or anything they can please help me out?

[email protected]

·
Registered
2,561 Posts
I can scan you the pages out of the Toyota Shop manual later tonight if you want...

Really though...with all the stuff been happening lately on your supra...you may wanna bite the bullet and get yourself a set of these Shop manuals. They are well worth the money!!

It's not really difficult to remove the tranny. Having a tranny jack is always best. If you were closer to me i'd let you borrow mine.

You should just need to remove the driveshaft from the rear of the tranny, disconnet the clutch line, possbily remove the starter, and then remove the bolts that bolt through the bellhousing and into the rear of the engine. Not to mention the tranny support bar / bushings.

Those aren't the toyota way for the W58 ( i have yet to remove my trans )...just a few things I have had to do on other transmission I have removed in the past.

Reactions: Smokinsupra95

·
11,217 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Yea if you could I'd appreciate it. Is a tranny job something that can even be done in the garage? I have basic tools (can get more tools if needed). I have 4 basic jacks, no lifts (not the ones that raise the car liek 5 feet anyways).

I mean anything will help I guess. I'm 50/50 on trying to do my tranny. It would be a fun time to learn more about the car, but I don't want to totally disassemble it and fuck up.

[email protected]

·
NA-T Member
1,021 Posts