Supra Forums banner

1 - 17 of 17 Posts

·
Acceleration
3,833 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
Well, I'm going 1jz and I have a few questions. I already have a 3" catless exhaust (Slimfastsupra's old exhaust), intake filter/piping, and I was planning on just adding on a DP while the engine is out. Well I've got a friend with the aussie y pipe that's made for a soarer, so a midpipe needs to be fabricated for it since the dp doesn't line up, and he has offered it to me.

My main questions were that I was under the impression that with intake dp and exhaust, I would be at 14 psi, and that fuel cut is at 1 bar (14.7 psi right? im new to turbos :) ). Now with this y pipe and a fabricated mid pipe bolted up to my exhaust, what psi will I be running, and will I be hitting fuel cut? I don't want to be hitting fuel cut because I know that will be frustrating the hell out of me, but are there easy ways of getting around it? Excuse the dumb question but does higher octane help? Or is it simply a trigger in the ecu that shuts off fuel when boost reaches 14.7 psi?

I really do want to have a full exhaust with no restrictions, and I want it all done when the engine is out so I don't have to go back later and struggle with it. The only other mod for now that I was planning to do was a fmic, a nicely sized one (Not too big, not too small) that fills my lower grill. Does all of this sound good? I've read through the faq's as best I could but go figure, a lot of it I couldn't understand. Is this y pipe going to have the same problems as the ebay y pipe where the fitament is going to be extremely poor? If so, is it still worth it?

Hope this doesn't sound like too much of a newbie post, just trying to learn with an open mind and I'm hoping you guys can help me out.

TIA :)

And btw, :lol: at this smiley.. :madjerk:

·
Registered
347 Posts