Supra Forums banner
1 - 20 of 47 Posts

· Registered
1,760 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
So here we go with bench racing...I know some ppl hate it =)

My friend and I have been building our cars and talking crap to each other for about 3 years now and finally getting the chance to run this friday for a nice domestic vs import grudge match. All our friends are coming out and I'm a bit nervous.

His car is a 1966 Mustang 2750lbs, 3spd automatic, 2800rpm stall, a very snappy 302 SBF 10:1 compression, fully built with edelbrock aluminum heads, roller rockers, victor jr intake, holley 650 carb, 150shot NOS, 3.80 gearing with locker and ET full drag tires. I'm guessing 380HP on the motor and about 550 with NOS giving him a 5lbs/HP power ratio

My supra

All seats taken out except drivers, 6spd, completely stock block, Turbonetics T72 turbo with .84 exhaust side, 4" downpipe and exhaust, 46mm wastegate, 850cc injectors, FPR, -10 lines, dual supra fuel pumps, MAP ECU I, RPS Stg 3 clutch, 16" RX7 wheels with Mickey Thompsons 10.5" ET Streets slicks, TRD LSD and rush 2 step anti-lag. I'm trying to tune my car for more boost but the ignition is limited me to 20-22lbs of boost @ 11.5 A/F's. I will be regapping my plugs tonight and trying for more boost. My HP is unknown at this time.

With both are rusty and haven't been to the track in 3 years.

I bet he will launch like hell on me having a live axle and lighter weight plus automatic and NOS...my mid-top end is stronger..

Any guesses on what the outcome will be? Even if I had a decent launch would I be able to catch him?

· Registered
1,760 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 · (Edited)
Yeah that car is light and is the biggest advantage it has besides having an automatic.

Makes me think sometimes I should of just left the car stock twins so I didn't have hole shot problems and used NOS at the track.

· Premium Member
29,523 Posts