Supra Forums banner

Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 20 of 42 Posts
S

·
0 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Anyone painted their shiny intercooler flat black? I would expect to see efficency go up if it were done.

·
Not ur jizz, not ur bizz
6,571 Posts
how would painting your intercooler increase efficiency? :confused: :confused:

·
ƒ=1/2π(√k/m)
10,086 Posts
Black absorbs more heat man.... I don't think it would keep it cool.... but I'm no scientist.

W

·
0 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
Schmleff said:
Anyone painted their shiny intercooler flat black? I would expect to see efficency go up if it were done.
i feel dumber now....

K

·
0 Posts
Discussion Starter #6 (Edited)
The color or absence of color known as black does not absorb more heat. It absorbs all of the light which in turn gives heat from the absorption of the light energy. In no way will any color absorb heat energy more efficiently. Learn your basic physics... :rolleyes:

Painting an intercooler may well do the opposite and actually lower the efficiency of the intercooler. Why do you ask that I said this? Well a layer of paint adds one more medium the heat has to travel thru to get to the metal. It could very well act like an insulator and slow down its travel. I would think the coefficient of heat for a layer of paint is much less than the coefficient of heat for a piece of aluminum / the type of metal that the intercooler is made out of.

·
ƒ=1/2π(√k/m)
10,086 Posts
Yeah, and if anything... wrapping the tank of the intercooler would be more beneficial. (obviously not the fins) & (Wrap the IC pipes)

X

·
0 Posts
Discussion Starter #9
I can definitely say i gained at least 1 - 2 thousand more hp from painting my intercooler white. It reflects light better :)

K

·
0 Posts
Discussion Starter #10
What about dem F&F stickers yo?

Don't forget that adding a "Nos" brand sticker to your car gives 25 hp.

·
CT12 Destroyer
2,993 Posts
MK3Brent said:
Hey... if stickers work... lol