Supra Forums banner

1 - 15 of 15 Posts
S

·
0 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
my car wouldnt start today, so i pulled a plug to test for a spark, but when i took it out, the bottom half was drenched in oil. all 6 of them are like that. i know it isnt from the valve cover gaskets cause there about brand new and there was no oil in the spark plug valleys. could anyone tell me what it could be ?? maybe the rings going out ? i really apprecite any help. thanks !

·
FasterThanASpeedingCivic
671 Posts
I think its your rings.....But Im not sure, Im still kinda new to this car...

·
No One Ever Listens To Me
5,467 Posts
could be bad valves as well....

do a search tons of info on this topic and every scenerio is talked about....

·
Registered
2,649 Posts
Valve seals are more likely. Ever been changed? What year is the car? What's the mileage on the engine?

Combustion in the cyliders is usually enough to keep large amounts of oil or coolant out in case of a leak. Valve seals are the exception to this, as the valves themselves shield the seals from high pressure. They are also one of the only places where oil can leak down into your cylinders when the engine is off.

S

·
0 Posts
Discussion Starter #7
well the car cranked up, but died all the sudden after about 15 secs. wouldnt start again causse the plugs were soaked in oil.

·
Registered
91 Posts
I have the same problem. My car is sitting in the driveway because of that problem. I had it checked out by a shop here that specializes in Toyota and Lexus. He told me that I have oil blowing by the cylinders, coating my spark plugs and he checked the compression in the first 2 cylinders and it is very low(115) or around there. The valve cover gaskets leak, but not enough to cause my problem. He told me to rebuild or replace the engine. Let me know if you hear anything different.

G

·
0 Posts
Discussion Starter #9