Supra Forums banner

1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
1,850 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi guys.

I bought a supra in VA and it will arrive in 2 weeks. The seller told me he's taking the current tags off (I don't know if this is required by his DMV).

According to the Collin County website, before I can register the car at the county tax-assessor in McKinney, TX, I'll need to get it inspected for safety and emissions. But how do you do that without tags? Is there a grace period that you can drive around without tags? Do I need to get some temp tags? I'll call them tomorrow for info but more than that I appreciate any hands-on help from people who know.

It's a 1998 TT and it's BPU. So no cats. Any idea if they'll give me a hard time with the emissions test or if some places *cough* are easier than others *cough* if you *cough* 'persuade' them?

I'm new to texas as well, only been here 3 months. Am new to the USA as a matter of fact so I don't know my way around very well yet :D

It's a quicksilver BTW so +1 for TX :bigthumb:

Thanks for any help.

·
Premium Member
1,078 Posts
he should have left the tags on the car... when i bought mine the guy didnt. but by law he should have...

·
98 RSP TT
2,533 Posts
when i got mine, it had not tags or registration. I went to a inspection place first, and then went to the DMV. most places dont care as long as you have money.

·
Bad Texan Boy
4,266 Posts
Congruts :bigthumb:

R

·
0 Posts
What Eric said.....even in state, they still want you to get a new inspection at the time of purchase for you safety and their benefit....

·
Registered
342 Posts
Its easy. Done it several times. Take the car with proof of insurance to the inspection garage and tell them you need a "green sheet inspection." They will inspect it, put on an inspection sticker, and provide a green form that you can then take to get it registered.

·
Registered
1,850 Posts
Discussion Starter #8
db1115 said: