Supra Forums banner

1 - 20 of 20 Posts

·
Banned
2,999 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Will C16 or race fuel help my NA in the 1/4 mi???

I will be heading to the track this weekend just to find out how fast i can pull with a NA 5spd hardtop with a few weight reduction mods. Im curious if it will help or if its even a good idea to run race gas??? Any suggestions or input is welcome?

·
Hardtopper
13,043 Posts
No need to run race gas in an NA unless you have a reason to (ex, - nitrous)

·
Banned
2,999 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
My reason is to get better times given the fact that i will get a decent 60ft. Oh, I dont have N20. I'll take everything i can get at this point since its last minute.

·
Banned
2,999 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
So C16 on a NA setup will not make a difference. So im guessing it'll only help with a turbo setup and lower compression? sorry im a newbie when it comes to when C16 is ideal. :)

·
Registered
1,079 Posts
kevganzon said:
So C16 on a NA setup will not make a difference. So im guessing it'll only help with a turbo setup and lower compression? sorry im a newbie when it comes to when C16 is ideal. :)

Just my guess. The use of race fuel will only benefit performance if the car's ECU has areas of the timing/ignition etc maps for it (which it probably does not), or if the car has force induction, heavily modified NA with higher compression ratio than stock.

The stock ECU and all the rest are optimized for the recommended fuel and is not capable of adding more hps out of higher octane.

Anything over 95 octane for mildly modified NA is probably over kill imho. Save the money towards other things.

Reducing weight will definitely help, you accelerate faster, stop faster.

·
What You Know About That
3,654 Posts