Supra Forums banner
1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
56 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
im new with supras ill iv ever messed with is hondas
and i heard you cant change the exhaust camshaft
in the 2jz-ge so is this true? if so why is this?

·
Banned
1,280 Posts
InlineFanatic said:
so would changing the intake cam help any?
not unless youre running higher horsepower numbers. ive heard you can change the exhaust camshaft if you completely illiminate the distributer setup, but im not entirely sure. makes sense though

·
Registered
10 Posts
Im looking into this at the moment.
Im planing to extract about 300hp from the NA, I dont want a turbo.
I haven't yet found anywhere that will do the NA exhaust billet.

Im probably going to have to ditch the dizzy and go for a CoP setup, but that means aftermarket ECU and the $$ associated with it (MSII for me).

If ANYONE has any experience with the changing of cams in a NA 2j please let me know.

Cheers, Tim

·
Cheifbootknocka
1,944 Posts
High PSI said:
Oh God, here we go again. :rofl:

Just kidding.
Werd ^

·
Registered
10 Posts
Does this mean too many wanabe losers have said this before or is it because people have tried and failed.

I dont see the problem with 100hp per litre, its already got 73hp per litre now.

The engine isnt in a MkIV either, its a MkII.

Please enlighten me :)

·
Torturing a W58...
260 Posts
I think everyone is in agreement that it's possible and has been done, but it just doesn't make any sense logistically. The 2J was engineered to be turbo'd. Even at 300hp, it's cheaper and easier to just boost the car. The end product will also be arguably more drivable and reliable.

The only real reason to do this is if you want to be different. If that's the case, I say save youself some money, drop a SBC V8 in, and call it a day. :ugh2: