Supra Forums banner
1 - 20 of 22 Posts

·
Registered
299 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
car has been sitting since yesterday, I just popped the hood, checked the oil AND NOTHING WAS ON THE STICK!! Am I supposed to start it up first then check it or wht? No oil leaks and If she burns oil its very small amounts. Oil was just changed 2 saturdays ago.. sorry if im a noob.

·
Registered
1,373 Posts
DONT START IT LIKE THAT

Fill up the oil first and then start it.

Good to hear that people actually check their oil..

·
Registered
3,727 Posts
well is your car turbo? maybe your turbo oil seals are gone. also maybe check the lower intercooler pipe and see if its filled with oil. it might blow out the cold side and not the hot side.

·
Registered
3,727 Posts
right. but only if its going out the exhaust. so maybe take off the accordian hose and check for oil and check for shaft play. also check the LICP and maybe intercooler and see how much oil you get out of it.

also take off the turbo elbow and see if theres oily residue all over the blade.

·
Registered
299 Posts
Discussion Starter · #7 ·
New to turbos sorry.. accordian hose - the hose thats on the front facing part of the turbo right?

LICP?

·
Registered
3,727 Posts
yes the hose in front of the turbo.
LICP = lower intercooler pipe

·
Ludicrous speed! GO!
959 Posts
LaDuce said:
New to turbos sorry.. accordian hose - the hose thats on the front facing part of the turbo right?

LICP?
Yeah that one, the one that connects the AFM to the turbo.

Which dipstick do you have? The one that is really hard to read or the one thats easier to read?

For the one that is hard to read, you really kinda have to go with wetness meaning see where the oil wets the rag and comparing it to the dipstick indicator.

·
Registered
956 Posts
I used to panic checking my oil when I had the 7m. After my rebuild, everything was just so clean, it was very very hard to see oil on the dipstick at all!

·
Registered
299 Posts
Discussion Starter · #11 ·