Supra Forums banner

1 - 20 of 32 Posts

·
Registered
Joined
·
113 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Back in November I took my car in for a single conversion. I had most of the kit ie: turbo, manifold, fmic. So I go up and talk to this shop. Show them what I had. They say about 2500.00 to get it done. After they get it and start it swelled to over 5500.00. They say I have to go with the FULL fuel system upgrade, VPC/AFC or Map ECU, misc hoses, connectors etc. After 6 weeks plus they call and say they can't get it on the dyno to tune, but tuned it with a wideband. Come pick it up and we will call you back at the biginning of the year to get it back in for a tune. Of course no call ever, which I am glad. Here is a list of the bad.

1)Turbo hitting the strut tower. (They said they would tweak it over so it wouldn't hit) NEVER DID. It took me about 4 minutes to loosen it and tweak it over!!!!
2)They say they don't think the injectors were 720cc (I supplied them from someone on SF) it took me 17 seconds to get the number off the injector and call Denso. 720cc = YES
3)My extra fuel pump powere wire was spliced into my stereo power wire, in the hatch, and they USED A TINY BLADE FUSE???? It melted before I got home......LUCKY no fire!
4)The ground spot for the fuel pump wasn't tightened down, totally forgot! Just sitting there, I mean not even finger tight!
5)Never hooked the MAP sensor vacuum hose back up?????
6) bypassed the EGR, did not use a block off plate???
7)Incorrectly wired the wastgate.
8)set fuel pressure at 62 pounds!
9) Disconnected the 2 vacuum lines from the power steering pump?????
10)A lot of the vacuum lines run incorrectly! Especially the line to the boost controller......way oversized!
11)Did not take the time to hook the wires to my stereo system back up after they disconnected them. Except for a half ass attempt to splice a wire together with DUCT TAPE???!!!!
12)Screwed my mounting up for the head unit so the face would not open!
13)Runs so rich it will burn your eyes if you stand behind it!!
14)Said to me when I picked it up: When it is tuned out right you should have about 400 hp AT THE WHEELS!!!! WHAT?!?!?!?!?!?!?!?!?!?
15) There is some other stuff, but insignificant at this point!

This shop is well known and has worked on several Supra's
I am not naming names but the moral of this story is to PICK YOUR SHOP WISELY! I wish I had just taken it to SpeedforSale first. They were just farther away and this shop was very close to me! It is worth the drive or tow or whatever to get your car in the right hands. Now SpeedforSale is having a nightmare reworking a lot of this mess!
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
1,589 Posts
Well you can't post something like that and then not tell us what shop it was...

Very sorry to hear about the mess though, glad your car is in good hands now.

Hearing stuff like that makes me glad I do all of my own work. I know if I do it myself it will be done how I want it.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
72 Posts
Well you can't post something like that and then not tell us what shop it was...

Very sorry to hear about the mess though, glad your car is in good hands now.

Hearing stuff like that makes me glad I do all of my own work. I know if I do it myself it will be done how I want it.
Amen Chris!


I know no one likes to tattle-tell, but we need to know what shop did that kind of work just for future reference.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
116 Posts
If someone would have posted the name of the shop that screwed you , It would have helped you out . I'm sure your not the first person they have done this to . Help your Supra brothers out and give us a name. It is clear that your not trying to bash someone.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
134 Posts
ditto, the name would be nice so no one else gets screwed over, because i am sure not all of us are made of money and cant afford something like this. thats why jeremy is doing my conversion.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
113 Posts
Discussion Starter #9 (Edited)
OK. Well I do have people that will back up everything I have claimed. It was Madhavi Motorsports!
It was not my intention to bash a shop. But it is a good point not to have other people get SCREWED!!!
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
113 Posts
Discussion Starter #10
ditto, the name would be nice so no one else gets screwed over, because i am sure not all of us are made of money and cant afford something like this. thats why jeremy is doing my conversion.

Does Jeremy have your car right now? I saw an Anthracite colored one there last week, that he was starting on. Nice car!
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
3 Posts
Back in November I took my car in for a single conversion. I had most of the kit ie: turbo, manifold, fmic. So I go up and talk to this shop. Show them what I had. They say about 2500.00 to get it done. After they get it and start it swelled to over 5500.00. They say I have to go with the FULL fuel system upgrade, VPC/AFC or Map ECU, misc hoses, connectors etc. After 6 weeks plus they call and say they can't get it on the dyno to tune, but tuned it with a wideband. Come pick it up and we will call you back at the biginning of the year to get it back in for a tune. Of course no call ever, which I am glad. Here is a list of the bad.

1)Turbo hitting the strut tower. (They said they would tweak it over so it wouldn't hit) NEVER DID. It took me about 4 minutes to loosen it and tweak it over!!!!
2)They say they don't think the injectors were 720cc (I supplied them from someone on SF) it took me 17 seconds to get the number off the injector and call Denso. 720cc = YES
3)My extra fuel pump powere wire was spliced into my stereo power wire, in the hatch, and they USED A TINY BLADE FUSE???? It melted before I got home......LUCKY no fire!
4)The ground spot for the fuel pump wasn't tightened down, totally forgot! Just sitting there, I mean not even finger tight!
5)Never hooked the MAP sensor vacuum hose back up?????
6) bypassed the EGR, did not use a block off plate???
7)Incorrectly wired the wastgate.
8)set fuel pressure at 62 pounds!
9) Disconnected the 2 vacuum lines from the power steering pump?????
10)A lot of the vacuum lines run incorrectly! Especially the line to the boost controller......way oversized!
11)Did not take the time to hook the wires to my stereo system back up after they disconnected them. Except for a half ass attempt to splice a wire together with DUCT TAPE???!!!!
12)Screwed my mounting up for the head unit so the face would not open!
13)Runs so rich it will burn your eyes if you stand behind it!!
14)Said to me when I picked it up: When it is tuned out right you should have about 400 hp AT THE WHEELS!!!! WHAT?!?!?!?!?!?!?!?!?!?
15) There is some other stuff, but insignificant at this point!

This shop is well known and has worked on several Supra's
I am not naming names but the moral of this story is to PICK YOUR SHOP WISELY! I wish I had just taken it to SpeedforSale first. They were just farther away and this shop was very close to me! It is worth the drive or tow or whatever to get your car in the right hands. Now SpeedforSale is having a nightmare reworking a lot of this mess!

First of all why would you take it to Mahdavi Motorsports when you have some really good supra specialist in the same state such as speed for sale, AAP Motorsports even batlground.

If you want an oil change you go to Mahdavi Motorsports, for Supra work i would not think about going there. Thanks for sharing this info with us. This will help another member out.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
113 Posts
Discussion Starter #12
I know, I know.....well AAP was booked up, SpeedforSale was too far. I knew they had done a couple Supras, I had seen Patrycja's car. I was impatient. And I am paying for my ignorance!
 

·
daredevil racecar builder
Joined
·
2,091 Posts
Touching base on your thread title.

If you live in Greenville do not take your car to Japanese Auto Specialists...I have had a bad experience every time my car has been in their money thirsty hands.
 

·
The Boost Machine
Joined
·
490 Posts
94TTinATL : I'm sorry to hear about your issues with MMS. I am confident you have made a wise choice in taking your car to Jeremy. Top notch guy and stands behind everything he sells and does. Plenty of positive feedback from many members on here as well.

David
 

·
What?!
Joined
·
2,107 Posts
Back in November I took my car in for a single conversion. I had most of the kit ie: turbo, manifold, fmic. So I go up and talk to this shop. Show them what I had. They say about 2500.00 to get it done. After they get it and start it swelled to over 5500.00. They say I have to go with the FULL fuel system upgrade, VPC/AFC or Map ECU, misc hoses, connectors etc. After 6 weeks plus they call and say they can't get it on the dyno to tune, but tuned it with a wideband. Come pick it up and we will call you back at the biginning of the year to get it back in for a tune. Of course no call ever, which I am glad. Here is a list of the bad.

1)Turbo hitting the strut tower. (They said they would tweak it over so it wouldn't hit) NEVER DID. It took me about 4 minutes to loosen it and tweak it over!!!!
2)They say they don't think the injectors were 720cc (I supplied them from someone on SF) it took me 17 seconds to get the number off the injector and call Denso. 720cc = YES
3)My extra fuel pump powere wire was spliced into my stereo power wire, in the hatch, and they USED A TINY BLADE FUSE???? It melted before I got home......LUCKY no fire!
4)The ground spot for the fuel pump wasn't tightened down, totally forgot! Just sitting there, I mean not even finger tight!
5)Never hooked the MAP sensor vacuum hose back up?????
6) bypassed the EGR, did not use a block off plate???
7)Incorrectly wired the wastgate.
8)set fuel pressure at 62 pounds!
9) Disconnected the 2 vacuum lines from the power steering pump?????
10)A lot of the vacuum lines run incorrectly! Especially the line to the boost controller......way oversized!
11)Did not take the time to hook the wires to my stereo system back up after they disconnected them. Except for a half ass attempt to splice a wire together with DUCT TAPE???!!!!
12)Screwed my mounting up for the head unit so the face would not open!
13)Runs so rich it will burn your eyes if you stand behind it!!
14)Said to me when I picked it up: When it is tuned out right you should have about 400 hp AT THE WHEELS!!!! WHAT?!?!?!?!?!?!?!?!?!?
15) There is some other stuff, but insignificant at this point!

This shop is well known and has worked on several Supra's
I am not naming names but the moral of this story is to PICK YOUR SHOP WISELY! I wish I had just taken it to SpeedforSale first. They were just farther away and this shop was very close to me! It is worth the drive or tow or whatever to get your car in the right hands. Now SpeedforSale is having a nightmare reworking a lot of this mess!
I understand that no shop is perfect but your list sounds like BS. You have to be over exaggerated. They would never let a car out of their shop like that. I don't know what was done to your car and what above is true it just sounds mostly untrue. And I'd put Sam's supra skills against any mechanics skills any day.

And instead of bitching about a shop online, why don't you give that shop a chance to redeem themselves and/or fix their mistakes. Every company should be given the chance to redeem or fix what they might of mislooked. To come on here and bash right away like that just shows a flaw in your character.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
657 Posts
I understand that no shop is perfect but your list sounds like BS. You have to be over exaggerated. They would never let a car out of their shop like that. I don't know what was done to your car and what above is true it just sounds mostly untrue. And I'd put Sam's supra skills against any mechanics skills any day.

And instead of bitching about a shop online, why don't you give that shop a chance to redeem themselves and/or fix their mistakes. Every company should be given the chance to redeem or fix what they might of mislooked. To come on here and bash right away like that just shows a flaw in your character.
I do not give people second chances. Maybe you do, but I do not. I'm tired of the same people using and abusing me time and time again.

As they say: "Screw me once, shame on you. Screw me twice, shame on me." Fuck fuckers, no extra chances. They had the chance and blew it once. You really think they are going to fix the install correctly? Yeah right...
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
116 Posts
I don't recall 94TTinAtl bashing anyone several of us asked for the name of the shop. It took several days for him to post . I also don't recall him talking shit about anyone,Just stating what had happened to his car . I had the same thing happen to me .I'm one of the lucky ones from what I" HEAR"3 people lost their cars. You never know what is really true ,
 

·
What?!
Joined
·
2,107 Posts
If you don't believe in second chances than sorry to say but you're gonna have a hard life ahead of you. Now a days people are out to dissapoint. I'm just a different person thank you MKIV, I like to think the better of people. If you make a mistake with me than I'll give you a chance to make it up me and if you still fail me well then the story is written. I'm not one to bash anyone ever and if I do than you must really have it coming. :)

I have put my 2 cents in just like everybody else on this forum has and that's that. I have taken all my cars there and I've never had a problem. I can only speak on behalf of my experience and I have. Done deal.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
113 Posts
Discussion Starter #19
I knew this would happen. But I have people that WILL BACK UP EVERYTHING I STATED. It is not BS, it is all true.

They had my car for over 6 weeks, i am not complaining about the length of time, but 6 weeks things should have been right! It came out horrible. I am not interested in giving them a second chance. THEY were supposed to call me.......never did!! I know you are biased toward Madhavi. But I am not. And I am speaking on behalf of MY experience. My experience was worse than Bad! 62lbs of fuel pressure and running as rich as it is, I am running the risk of scaring the cylinder walls due to flooding the cylinder with gas and washing off the oil! So you are telling me I should give them a second chance when the first was so Bad?? NO!

Nothing is exagerated, nothing is overstated. I am not running my mouth about MMS. Arash and Sam were very very nice guys, and like I said I have seen their work before, I have seen your car, I have seen their race car, I have seen several others they have done. But I can assure you mine was not given the attention yours and others have received!!!!!! I felt comortable taking it to them. They let ME down!!
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
14 Posts
I am sorry you feel that we screwed you. But you have to understand that I didn't build the SSAUTOCHROME manifold you supplied that hit the strut tower. You went and bought a TT Supra, and then put on the cheapest ebay parts on it, and now you blame me because it probably all went to hell. You gave me Junk injectors that you didn't know what they were, a junk manifold, and wastegate. Also when the car got delivered it was running smooth, and the fuel pressure was fine.

Why are you waiting 6 months to complain about this? If the car was doing these things then why did you even take delivery of it? Also if you want a egr block off plate, then you have to pay for one. You can disable egr and leave the valve, but you knew that right? Just like you have to supply vaccum to a source that no longer needs it? Just one more hose to blow off. Everything was fine when it left here. It's been six months and you complain now. You should atleast me honest in telling people the whole story. I am sorry you had a bad experience but you payed me X amount of dollars to work on your car, and you feel like it didn't get the attention of others. Well probably because the others paid more for more attention. You have to understand that we charge hourly. If you tie my hands and put me in a corner then I can only provide so much. We don't work for free.

Drift Tom, you don't come here for just an oil change. You also come here for any swap of any make vehicle. Custom turbo kits on all vehicles, 1000hp daily driven TT mustangs, and a shit load of others. We also fix a lot of the cars in the atlanta area that people don't know about. Maybe I should take pictures of these cars that I have to fix for other shops. So please if your going to bash, get your facts straight.

Thank you for your time, have to get back to work.

We always stand behind our work, and warranty if it's our fault, period. You don't stay open for as long as we have doing the kind of work you described.
 
1 - 20 of 32 Posts
Top