Supra Forums banner

1 - 20 of 60 Posts

·
Go All Electric
1,183 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I'm finishing wrapping up some info for an FAQ that I wote a while back.

Let's compare 3 of the most common ways that I know of, that most mk3 owners would manually controll boost.

1) Shim waste gate.

I have not yet used this method or driven an mk3 that has this mod so I have no personal experience to add. I have heard that boost has a tendency to spike (rise above a tuned point for a short period of time and then fall to tuned point). I would not think that boost would be able to fall below a tuned pont though because this mod actually puts a physical object in "obstuction" of the gate instead of tuning by pressure/vaccum.

2)JMBC/Bleeder mbc/pressure regulator via vacum etc.

I currently have this installed. I have experienced boost spike of (described above) of anywhere from .5 to 2 psi and I have no idea of any way that could remedy this. I heard that shortening vacum hoses may work .. but I do not know so that should be discussed.

I have also experienced boost creep to fc at about 13psi steady, possibly only due to elevation because this only happened once since install.

I have also experienced boost falling back to stock 6.8/7psi and have been tuning this lately with the bleeder edjustments. I haven't fully remedied this yet because I have not had a dry day where I had time to yet. Today I had plenty of time to tune, but it was very wet and foggy out. Hopefully tomorrow I'll be able to tune it to hold bost perfectly.

3) Doc Jonez/Dawes MBC.

I have not used this and I would like to hear info from Doc and from anyone else who may have used or experienced this. It seems to be the best one but I want to know what drawbacks it may have.

Anyone that has any relative input is encoraged to comment. The purpose is to determine the most effective/most easily installed/most easily adjustable/most precise/most relaible/ all around best mbc possible.