Supra Forums banner
1 - 20 of 24 Posts

·
it's a rod knock life
489 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I understand that the most widely used aftermarket con-rod are the Crowers. Proven up to 730+rwhp so far in the 7m.

While having this amount of hp is not my goal, I would really like to incorporate a set of forged rods and clevlite77's into my build-up for insurance reasons. I highly believe this area (not including oil starvation) is one of the reasons we're prone to knock at high hp levels.
I'am also planning on adding a sp63 or sp67 to the mix by spring.
I will drag this motor.
Question is, has anyone use a set a Pauter con-rods into their build up? I'am simply loving the way they are designed and I like the idea of being different if not in the build up path the choice of parts.
Might anyone else be considering forged rods. Any ideas as to pro's or con's with using various beam types, etc.? .
Thanks
Pat

G

·
no, i have no experience in forged con-rods.

on another note i have two projects i'm looking into building up. a '91 Supra turbo 7m powered, and a '77 280Z with a stout SBC350. i own both cars.

set of Crower for the SBC - $498.95 for 8. that's $62.36/ea.
set of Crower for the 7M - $979.00 for 6. that's $163.17/ea.

i hate that shit. :anger: i want to email Crower and ask them why is it like that. just because they only sell one set of 7m rods per decade doesn't mean they can hike up the price to the sky. it's like that with all the parts. looks like i'll be doing the Z car first.

G

·
Uhhh, basic market laws cause the prices to be like that - You've got an engine that's used in orders of magnitude more cars, therefor the cost of producing the rods is spread out on a vastly greater scale. As well, you've got tonnes of competition helping to streamline the production.

Sorry, but there is no way you're going to see small-scale, one-off 7M performance products compete on price point with SBC parts.

·
Asshole MKIV owner.
1,011 Posts