Supra Forums banner

1 - 20 of 21 Posts

·
Last stock TT on Earth
625 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I am considering doing this install myself to save a few bucks (excluding pressing the bushings out/in) though I've read that this is fairly difficult which makes me nervous about doing it. Am I being a big wuss about this? I don't have access to a lift though I have a decent set of tools, jack stands, FSM, etc. I've done the 60k maintanence, brakes, trans mount, etc, before which puts my experience level above a beginner but I'm no expert mechanic.

Also, I've heard that some riding time is needed afterwards to seat the coilovers before alignment and cornerbalance. Is this true?

Comments, experiences, and suggestions...?

·
Registered
238 Posts
Sounds like my situation...I've done everything I can in the garage (engine & tranny mount included) but broke down & had True Line replace my front arms, partly because the labor quote was less than I expected. And I didn't want to do something stupid like rip the grease seals on the brand-new oem control arm$$, or having a bad/inexperienced machine shop/employee screw up the arms or whatever if I went with new bushings only.
TrueLine has maintenance pits. The car sits on the ground while they work so I believe the alignment is done right this way - with the bushings unstressed. I've had no problems in almost 1 year of daily driving, so no regrets.
But it could be a good experience & its always nice to know things were done right (or not,) right? The rear arms are supposed to be the hard ones.
Can't say that I know about settling the coilovers.

·
Registered
13,581 Posts
The coilovers are almost stupid simple, we did mine in the driveway with just a jack and basic tools. My impression is also that it's better to let them settle before setting up the suspension. I drove it for something like a month, then we aligned and corner balanced it in one day ...one long day.