Supra Forums banner

1 - 5 of 5 Posts

·
Registered
1 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hey there, I’m a (new) 1987 Supra owner, I’ve had it about a year and a half now, I’m doing some work through the winter and found my turbo has some unwanted play.
I’m new to the turbocharged car scene, don’t know huge amounts about turbos but enough to know mine needs to be replaced or rebuilt.
Of course I could order up the cheapest EBay turbo and get by for 3 weeks, but I’d like something more reliable.
Im located in Ontario, Canada, and can pay to ship one here. Where have people had the best luck? am I looking for the driftmotion turbo? Or is there a better place to go?
If cost ends up being closer to 900$ Canadian I’ll be having this one rebuilt by a reputable shop in the area.

·
Registered
751 Posts
A quality rebuild on the OEM turbo is the best and most affordable option. Driftmotion and The Boost Lab are the 2 I would personally recommend. If you have a reputable shop somewhat locally that would be good too.

·
Registered
630 Posts
rebuild eh? lots of directions to go, really based on what you need/are willing to put into it

as someone that rebuilt my own turbo, I would say most diesel shops with a good reputation could easily open up a ct26 and refresh the bearings/seals. they could also install upgraded parts and balance it.

while your in there why not....

1. upgrade the thrust bearing/ and or rebuild components. driftmotion, ebay, other sell an improved design thrust bearing. this is good for turning up the boost and not trashing a fresh rebuild

2. upgrade the compressor. 2020 and there are now many ways to do this

a)billet wheel that fits in the oem housing ($50 on up, cheep option)
b)larger wheel and matching compressor housing. I went this route with a billet mamba wheel/housing
c) or larger compressor wheel and competent shop to mill out oem housing. again many larger cnc billet wheels with different designs (3071 clones, 11 blade, extended tip, etc)