Supra Forums banner
1 - 20 of 44 Posts

·
Registered
36 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi all. As a quick introduction I'm a UK Supra owner and the technical section moderator of mkivsupra.net. I've been running a Boostlogic T67 setup for a couple of years and have found it very agreeable :) When the DBB version of the T67 came out I got in the queue very early on, and after the backlog had cleared my turbo rocked up in blighty recently.

The thing about DBB turbos is that, as far as I could see, there wasn't any actual data out there about how much "better" the turbo is compared to non-DBB. There was a lot of "it'll spin up faster" and so forth, but how much faster? Is there a real world difference? As I was going to change from a T67 to a T67 DBB I thought I'd actually get some performance data rather than just relying on the "seat of my pants" dyno so that others can look at the data and make their decision...

I used the E-Manage Ultimate's onboard datalogger to get the data. The sample rate is 20ms. The testing was done on the road. The gradient varied a little but nothing major (it's flat where I live) so I don't think that affected anything, especially as I tried to do all the runs on the flat. The T67p runs were done 3 days before the T67DBB ones, ambient temps were within 4degC, and absolutely nothing else was changed on the car - not even me attempting to set up my boost controller properly ;) So as far as an ordinary Joe Public guy can do, the results are pretty reliable and accurate.

I'd also like to point out that I don't sell stuff, so I'm about as unbiased as I can be :D I also had the opportunity of going back to my T67p if the DBB was a crock so I was in no way obligated to pretend it was better for any reason :)

Anyway - enough rabbiting on, what about the conclusions?