Supra Forums banner

1 - 20 of 26 Posts

·
Registered
58 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Rant rave flame do what you will, I am curious as to why this isn't talked about more on the forums. Im a hardcore do it cheeper/yourself and have been researching but seem to find very little info. I am curious if people have done it? what turbo? rwhp? any and all inteligent input is welcome as im sure I will hear from those who hate people like me:wavey: BTW I work on diesels for a living.

·
tunin' da beast
479 Posts
If you're working with diesels on a daily basis then you should know that the exhaust temps from a diesel are a lot lower than from a gasoline engine. Therefore dieselturbo's don't last long when used on a gasoline engine and that's why no one uses them for their supra.

·
Registered
280 Posts
The exhaust side is usually bigger on the diesel turbos, so they generally will spool slower on a gas engine. I really don't think it has anything to do with the exhaust temps. I'm sure it would last fine on a supra if you could find somthing with a small enough turbine. Isn't the hx35 a diesel turbo? Those are used pretty commonly on supras.

·
Registered
58 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
EGT? tell that to the guys running them on the mkiii,dsm,honda ect. Please dont post with intend to make me look stupid. Im not asking this to argue, but to find and expose useful information for those of us willing to experiment.

·
Premium Member
5,375 Posts
Therefore dieselturbo's don't last long when used on a gasoline engine and that's why no one uses them for their supra.

Well that's a load of bullshit. Care to give some proof to back up your story?

Diesel turbos are assentially THE SAME as the ones you use in gasoline cars, the turbine housings are just bigger. It's very common to use Holset truck turbos in Europe, they just change the exhaust housing/wheel to something smaller from a smaller Holset truck turbo or from the Garrett lineup.