Supra Forums banner

1 - 20 of 25 Posts

·
Registered
204 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello SF.
A few months ago, I picked up a used LSD differential from a 1991 Supra Turbo and finally have some time to get it installed into my 87 NA. This is my first time doing this and my concern is I'll be bolting up the driveshaft and cv axles to diff in a random manner. I've made marks on the driveshaft, trans and diff before when I replaced my center bearing carrier but when installing this "new" diff, I won't have marks to align with.
My search on TSRM, sf and net didn't give me any clues; so please let me know if this is a concern or if there's a method I should follow.
Thanks.

·
Registered
1987 Toyota Supra
498 Posts
It does not matter. The pinion flange is square, 60x60mm pattern.
Side shafts are not clocked either to a specific orientation.
Just make sure you torque all bolts to the correct ft/lbs as in the TSRM.

If you separate the 2 part driveshaft, that is the critical part to put back together the same way again.
The diff, does not matter.

·
Registered
549 Posts
One additional tip if you assemble and get a vibration you're sure came from the diff. Mark the way it's connected with the vibration, flip it 180 out of phase and see how that goes. You'll have 4 ways it can bolt, and sometimes you can find the smoothest but the key is marking it so you don't lose track of which positions you've tried. I've owned a Syncro Vanagon and for some reason those things take every trick in the book to eliminate drivetrain vibrations and that one worked for me from a guy much smarter than I.

·
Super Moderator
10,753 Posts
Hello SF.