Supra Forums banner

1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
208 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I did search and all I could find is that 49 step procedure. Which is fine. But I was wondering if anyone knows of a step-by-step guide with pictures to removing the engine (7M-GTE) as easily as possible. I mean, what is the point of removing the ECU as mentioned in that 49 step guide?

I've also heard of a SOGI engine removal checklist, but couldn't seem to find it on the SOGI site. Anyone know where I can find this?

·
Registered
439 Posts
You have to umplug or remove the ECU becouse the engine harness is plugged to it, the harness goes thru the firewall and plugs to the ECU.

I was a total Noob at engine removal or mechanics, mine is allmost done, its all repaired and inside now the plug in process starts.

Remove the Engine with the tranny do not remove it separatly, fiting the cluch with the transmision in the tranny tube was imposible for me.

Label pipes and cables take constant pics of the whole process, if you are set back in time for any reason you can forget where was what, I allso putted the bolts, washers in diferent bags with labels on the bags, much easier to find them later.

I take it you have an engine hoist, but you need an engine stand, sure you can put the engine on top of a tire but you can work much better with a stand, i know i missed it very much, you will need a ring compressor its a pain in the a** to fit the rings without it, even if i managed (needed 4 hands thou).

REMEMBER TO DRAIN THE TRANSMISION FLUID i never saw it in any engine removal write up, or the TSRM, when i pulled the engine with the tranny the fluid came out of the hole of the propeler shaft ( i cant remember the english name correctly), messing my garage floor.

I followed a few, but found the TSRM method better at some points
this page was also good for me
Engine Rebuild

I wish you luck :)

·
Registered
179 Posts