Supra Forums banner

1 - 20 of 24 Posts
S

·
0 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Tried searching and "vague" is all I got. An FCD works by fooling the ECU into thinking that there is less boost being applied. Does this effect fuel delivery or anything else? It seems to me that if the ECU think's there's less air being forced into the combustion chamber then it will supply less fuel...

·
loudest
140 Posts
That is the reason that most people stay away from the FCD because of it causing lean circumstances.

S

·
0 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Please forgive me here, cuz I'm still a boost noob...but fuel cut happens at 10-12lbs right? How do people get around that?

I was already planning on needing to purchase a FCC, SAFC, and AF meter so that I could run 10-12lbs reliably...

·
Acting my age
3,968 Posts
The best way would be to do the Lexus AFM/550 mod.. Beyond that you could move to VPC territory.. The HKS FCD is not recommended by any tuner I know. If you cannot afford the 550's right away, get the lexus AFM and your S-AFC and run +20% across the entire RPM range.. (very specific! do not run any more or less, if you run 25% you will just hit FCO, less than 20% and you are risking running lean at high RPMs) This will allow you to run 12lbs of boost safely without leaning out. But dont get all crazy trying to run 14-15lbs without the injectors! I personnaly prefer the HKS S-AFR over the Apexi unit, but thats for you to decide.

S

·
0 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
What's different between the apexi unit and the HKS unit?

12lbs is more than enough for me...so I'll probably go that route. Appears to be slightly cheaper, too...

·
yeah thats me!
2,570 Posts
i have an hks fcd for sale and its attatched to my ol ecu wiring. :)

·
Registered
523 Posts
my car has the FCD wired in already. is there any way to just not use it? if i turn it all the way down will it cause fuel cut to occur faster? or does the ECU just use default setting?