Supra Forums banner

1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
8 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I've been searching all morning but nothing. I'm planning on using 2.5" intercooler piping, so I was wondering which TB would would be better to use. Stock GE or LS400? I going to be using the XSPower ffim and shooting for only 400whp. This is my first attempt on installing a ffim so I'm guessing I need an adapter flang to allow the TB of choice to bolt on.

(1995 SC300 5 speed, Aristo ECU)

·
Registered
975 Posts
I have built like 4 FFIM's so I'll share some knowledge with you.

The GE one is very long cause it has the idle valve integrated, no one really uses that you will be into the radiator practically (unless you shorten the FFIM as much as possible even then its a bit ugly).
It is the only one with an integrated IACV though, so when using any other one, you will need to get a flange for a TT idle valve which is a seperate unit.
TT valves are expensive so I run a sc400 valve (fits the same), and I had the flange welded underneath the intake.

here you can see it on the bottom back of the intake manifold to give you an idea
First FFIM I did not install it and regretted it cause idle was all over the place, now I have it on there its like stock.

now back to the throttle bodies you would consider running that dont have the idle valve integrated:

Never seen anyone use the ls400 one either although it is shorter the flange is not readily available. I put one of these on the stock intake manifold and I had to make my own flange etc.. its still quite bulky sideways its not the best choice either.

Now the XS power manifold comes with a flange for a 90mm mustang throttle body...

if you are on standanlone, you can just run the mustang 90mm throttle body but it costs $$$ cause a normal mustang throttle body is not 90mm, the 90mm are the upgraded special ones.