Supra Forums banner

1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
9 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hey guys! Im new around here. I thought i would introduce myself. Im Jellypig, a good ol Georgia boy. I do have a few questions about the purchasing of a supra. The biggest question is that of budget. Im looking at probably a MkIII. Im new to the world of project cars (As I currently only own my commuter Jetta). I see on craigslist supras that come and go at different price points. I see 87s for $2000, and i see 87s for $7000. Normally the $5-7k range being the turbo'd model. I may sound dumb for asking the following questions but hey, im here to learn.

1. Is it cheaper to buy a non turbo'd and add a turbo? Especially because I would be upgrading the turbo that I would have in the turbo'd model anyways.

And

2. How much should I be willing to drop up front for a decent Supra? It is so hard not to pounce on those $2500 non turbo crappy interior supras. So what is the sweet spot in price? Something in between rags and riches lol.

Thanks so much in advance guys! I look forward to becoming part of this community.

·
SF Sexy Member
355 Posts
Save up for turbo no matter how many decades or centuries.

I know what you want from reading your post.

Stop teasing yourself and making excuses.

/Thread

·
Registered
9 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Yeah thats what I will probably do. Also... It has been my dream to build/own a 10 second car. As in 10 second 1/4 mile. Is that something reasonable to expect from a MkIII, and how much would that cost me?

·
SF Sexy Member
355 Posts
Yeah thats what I will probably do. Also... It has been my dream to build/own a 10 second car. As in 10 second 1/4 mile. Is that something reasonable to expect from a MkIII, and how much would that cost me?
Priceless

·
Registered
174 Posts