Supra Forums banner

1 - 17 of 17 Posts

·
Registered
2,357 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
Give me some input on this welding...PIX!!(HUGE!!)

I've never welded anything and don't know as to what is considered good or bad when it comes to welding. Can you guys give me some feedback and tell me if they are good or bad? I'd like inputs from the guy who's know the difference between a good welding job and a shitty one. Thanks..

·
Supra TT Senior
1,887 Posts
I'm no expert with welding but that doesnt look like a awesome job on the outside. I'd imagine a good weld would also be how it's welded on the surface as well as how it's welded internally.

·
i recorded mark7m001.mp3
2,052 Posts
With aluminium, from what I've seen, the seam that looks like a "row of coins" is a good weld. The flange looks pretty good considering you're just trying this out :)

·
Registered
885 Posts
not bad if you did it your self. could be better of course, but looks like its good enough to perform

·
Registered
2,357 Posts
Discussion Starter #7
I should've been more specific. This wasn't done by me. I don't even have access to a welding machine. It was done at a shop a while ago when getting my 4 row installed. I saw the welding spots recently since I took all of my hardpipes off for polishing.

so I guess my question should've been. Is this a good welding job by a shop? thanks..hehe.

·
Registered
298 Posts
If they are holding you are ok, it does look like their speed varied as they went around the pipe or their feed rate was set to slow. Also looks like they tried to hide some ugly welds with a bunch of grinding. Penetration is decent enough though.

·
Banned
4,144 Posts
Welding can only really be tested with an X-ray. But from the looks of it, you don't have a bead full of pores.

Eric

But for what it's worth this is what welding should look like. Like a stack of dimes tipped over

·
Supra TT Senior
1,887 Posts
PsyKotiC RydeR said: