Supra Forums banner

1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
902 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hey Guys- taking my supra na-t to the strip this weekend in Byron Il. looking for any advise / tips. my setup:

2.5 intake and intercooler / 3" DP and exhaust
stock ct26- around 12psi
megasquirt/ 50% race gas
245/50 street tires @28psi
6 puck sprung clutch
LSD w 4.30 gearing

Honestly I have somewhat of a hard time launching on the street, burnouts and wheel hop in 1st if I'm too aggressive launching above 4k rpm. is the track surface going to be an entirely different experience?

would love to see 13's but realize that is most likely a pipe dream since its my first time (and Im running a stock ct). the plan is to go hard as i'm bringing her there on a trailer and am not afraid of breaking anything :)

·
boost'en down 101
1,276 Posts
13's aren't out of the question. i ran consistent high 13's on similar mods without a standalone and race gas on street tires. id recommend 22psi in the tires and around 4k launch with a little clutch slip. just do a light burnout too nothing crazy cause it makes street tires slick. also shift fast. not crazy fast but don't shift slow. that can make or break your time. try not to hit the rev limiter cause it slows you down.

i had drag radials for up until this weekend and all i can say is they suck. the hoosier qtp's i got hook like crazy, are really stable on the top end, and don't shock load the trans, diff, and wheel hop the car to death lol. so if you decide to get tire's get those and don't look back. no joke you could launch of the rev limiter and prolly hit 12's they're where its at.

·
Registered
454 Posts
Don't do a burnout with street tires or you will get water in the grooves and defeat the whole purpose.

have you ever been on a dyno? you will want to shift right at you peak HP (refer to dyno graph) and not run it to redline if the HP starts to fall off at the higher RPMs

·
boost'en down 101
1,276 Posts