Supra Forums banner
1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
1,337 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Disclaimer: I am not an expert of the 2JZ head, but some advice was past from my machinist to me that I would like to share with you all.

==========================

A while back I bought a built bottom end I bought from Supraforums. The bottom end was built with Crower Rods and JE Pistons.

Well, being as picky I was, I dropped it off at my machinist to go over the specifications and double check the clearances. He completely rebuilt the engine and I am very very happy with the results.

When I left, he recommended me to replace the cam sensors on my head when I put the engine back together to prevent from burning oil, excessive oil consumption or detonation. I said okay and left.

Well, I thought about that last comment and I couldn't think of how the cam sensors would cause more oil consumption and detonation.

My head has a bent intake valve. So I had to have my head rebuilt. A friend of mine also had a head he wanted rebuilt with Ferrera valves and to clean up the pits on #1 and #6 from detonation. His #6 was pitted badly from lots of detonation.

When I dropped off both heads to be rebuilt at my machinist and explained to him what I wanted, I also asked him about the cam sensors comment.

Well, well, well........now please read carefully. This information is crucial and the cam sensors is something that is very easily over looked and possibly an engine killer if not addressed.

Some of you might know that the cam sensors on the 2JZ are plastic. They do have rubber seals. However, even if the rubber seals are good, the cam sensors can still leak through cracks on the inside of the can sensor that are not visible from the outside. How do they get cracked? Well, I will come back to this later.