Supra Forums banner

1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
3,919 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I have a few scratches on my lip and i decided to repaint it. What kind of paint should I use? and would be a good idea to use a clear coat afterward? (to make it shiny)

·
Registered
13,569 Posts
Since it's so flexible, if you don't want it to crack you'll probably have to add a ton of plasticizer to the paint. I'm not a paint expert, so I can't tell you more about doing it.

Is this too getto?: I forgot who came out with it sometime last year, maybe Krylon?, but it's a spray paint specifically intended for painting flexible plastic and it supposedly has binders/solvents to make the paint adhere very aggressively to the plastic surface even without a lot of prep and undercoating. I'm gonna try it on a couple spots on my front lip and stock black front bumper.

S

·
0 Posts
i used plasti-kote semi-gloss black #1895 bumper spray. It looked excellent coming from a can.
Also used it on the interior piece around the auto shifter and it matched extremely close to the other pieces (has to be prepared properly). Got it at pep-boys auto stores, if you are going to use it i recomend that you get the handle for the can "can gun" to lay it out more even. spray light coats only until desired texture. Don't spray heavy coats cause they tend to run. good luck.

·
Bad Texan Boy
4,266 Posts
All Supras should have paint on their stock lips because its look so sexy.

·
Registered
500 Posts
please dont do a spray can DIY. You have a Supra, this is not a spray can honda project. Bring it to the pros or do a real spray with professional sand/primer/paint. Go to different shops and get quotes.

·
Stinks like sex in here..
343 Posts
shockel said:
i used plasti-kote semi-gloss black #1895 bumper spray. It looked excellent coming from a can.