Supra Forums banner

1 - 20 of 29 Posts

·
EFI Certified Tuner
1,877 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Is there anyone in the Dallas/DFW area that has experience installing headgakets on the 2JZ-GE engines? I want to install a supra TT headgasket in my 1995 Lexus SC300, but since I've never done it before I'm a little gun shy. I can pay $200. Please let me know if you or anyone else can help me.

·
Registered
1,192 Posts
dejacky said:
Is there anyone in the Dallas/DFW area that has experience installing headgakets on the 2JZ-GE engines? I want to install a supra TT headgasket in my 1995 Lexus SC300, but since I've never done it before I'm a little gun shy. I can pay $200. Please let me know if you or anyone else can help me.
The hard part is pullng off the intake and exhaust manifolds and disconnecting everything else off the head. Putting the hg on is easy; just make sure the head and block are clean prior to installing the hg. Additionally, it's extremely important that you follow the torque pattern and procedures when using OEM head studs.

I'd suggest ARP studs on a forced induction application, but you have to ensure the proper lubricant (i.e. molly lub) and torque sequence is used. Plus, the torque must be increased incrementally when tighten the head stud nuts. Trust me, I've learned my lesson on that one.

FWIW, it's probably an 8-hour job given a completely assembled stock motor. If someone takes on the work for $200, then I'd be concerned they really know what they're doing. You're probably better off doing it yourself.

Sorry... I know that isn't much help, but it's my advice.

-scott

·
EFI Certified Tuner
1,877 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
motorheaddown said: