• Get it repaired at a shop

Votes: 1 5.9%
  • 7mge swap

Votes: 1 5.9%
  • 7mgte swap

Votes: 4 23.5%
  • Sell and buy new car

Votes: 8 47.1%
  • Other (don't recommend I fix it myself)

Votes: 3 17.6%

• Total voters
1 - 20 of 26 Posts
T

·
0 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hey, I need help bad. So had a little trouble with my car over heating and took it to the dealership. Got horrible news, not only did I need a new radiator, fan clutch, and shrouds for both, I've got a BHG. The cars an 88 NA AT w/ 177k miles. I'm not a mechanic and don't have much money saved up ($3k max). I need help in figuring out what to do. Should I:

1.) Get the thing fixed by a shop. This includes, new gasket, machine work, the whole nine yards. Probably the radiator, and fan clutch too. If so, where in the Cali, Bay Area is a good shop to take it? Possible cost?

2.) Get a new NA motor and swap. Remember I'm not a mechanic, I'm looking at cost here. If this is cheaper than the repair work, it is worth it to me to look into. Shop? Cost?

3.) Get a new 7mgte motor and swap. Probably too expensive for we considering I need a shop to do it, but probably cheaper than what the dealership quoted for a repair. Shop? Cost?

4.) Sell the car as a "running" project car and get a new car. Unfortunately this is probably what I'm gonna have to do, as on Monday I need to be able to commute to work. Might be able to hold off and take public trans to work, or keep driving the car. But neither of those sounds like a good idea at this point. If I do this what should I ask for the car (remember Bay Area, CA)? Body is in good condition (no rust, needs some paint on hood and targa), new brakes, rims (curb rash), cd player, amp, and sub-box, interior is good (not great, but good).

5.) Other. Got any recommendations? Remember, I work fulltime or more, don't have the tools, time, space, or knowledge to do it myself. If you recommend I do it myself I will just ignore you.

Please I ned help.

-J

T

·
0 Posts