Supra Forums banner

1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Headlight Restorer
1,108 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
Hello all,:wavey:

I tried to street tune my car today since I never had a chance to do so since I went single four months ago.(due to lean spot on OBD I) I did the OBD II conversion and I was in 10:0's all day! woohoo time to tune.

here's my setup:
BL61 kit with stock fuel, and stock auto tranny and stall.
VPC/SAFC II
OBD II conversion(due to leanspot)
at 1.1 bar on 93 pump gas
AEM wideband UEGO

Just like you would tune on a dyno, I went WOT in 3rd gear and tried to tune around mid 11's. Well, after couple of WOT in 3rd gear and adjusting the SAFC II, I got it to close where I want in 3rd gear which was 11:3-11:7. Then, I went WOT in 1st and 2nd gear and holy SHIT! my a/f ratios were around 13:? to 14:?!!!!!! especially in 1st gear. 2nd gear, it was like 12:3-12:5

This might sound like a total noob question but.......aren't you supposed to tune based on 3rd gear pull? I was expecting the 1st and 2nd gear a/f ratios would be similar as 3rd and 4th gear pulls but damn was I wrong. I got worried about it and gave it more fuel with safc II and made 3rd gear WOT a/f ratios to be in low 10's. now the 1st gear stays in mid to high 12's and sometimes low 13's.

I was just wondering.........as long as the 3rd and 4th gear pulls are around mid 11's, is the car going to be okay/safe?(is this how you tune it for the streets?) or am I doing the whole thing wrong? What would be a conservatively tuned a/f ratio be for the streets with pumpgas?(1.1bar)
I feel really like a noob, but hey everyone has to start from somewhere!

Thanks in advance.
JP

·
Registered
244 Posts
What are your HI/LO throttle settings ?
What position are the knobs on the VPC ?

·
Headlight Restorer
1,108 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
What are your HI/LO throttle settings ?
What position are the knobs on the VPC ?
Thanks for your reply,

LO=10%
HI=50%

and all of the VPC knob positions are 12 o clock.